LibGuides: LGBTQ History and Culture: Resources in Special Collections: Online primary sources

Introduction

The MSU Libraries have an extensive scholarly collection on gender studies, including academic journals, books and ebooks, and conference proceedings. The library also subscribes to online resources for the use of MSU students and faculty. See the complete list.

Resources for MSU-affiliated users only

Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes newsletters and newspapers from many LGBTQ local groups and issue-based organizations.
Archives Unbound Collections This link opens in a new window
Two subcollections are of interest for LGBTQ studies: The Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 and Politics, Social Activism, and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newspapers
Defining Gender (1450-1910) This link opens in a new window
Focus on British source material. Includes secondary sources.
Independent Voices from Reveal Digital This link opens in a new window
Includes newsletters and newspapers from LGBTQ local groups and issue-based organizations.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary video collection with 200+ titles.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes both primary and secondary sources.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Coverage to 1974, five years after the Stonewall Riot brought the gay liberation movement into public consciousness.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Sources reflecting the prevailing social expectations across America, before and after the Stonewall Riot drew national attention to the gay liberation movement.