Confused?
Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.
MSU Office of Campus Sustainability : Welcome to the official website for the MSU Office of Campus Sustainability, and the University Committee for a Sustainable Campus. "Our mission is to foster a collaborative learning culture that leads the community to heightened awareness of its environmental impact. We envision MSU as a sustainable community that provides for the social and economic needs of its current and future members without compromising the health of our biosphere."
Be Spartan Green : Campus Sustainability : Visit this web site and click on environmental stewardship for information about electrical consumption data using a campus map. If you click on the map provided, it will provide data on specific buildings. According to Lynda J. Boomer, Energy and Environmental Engineer, Michigan State University, Physical Plant Room 101, East Lansing, MI 48824 (boomer@pplant.msu.edu; telephone: 517-432-2213), actual costs/rate for 08/09 from the "Cost of Utilities" report are: Electric = 0.08377 per kwhr; Steam = $13.92 per 1000 lbs; Water and Sewer = $2.9141 per 1000 gallons.
MSU Environmental Stewardship Report (2011)
MSU Water Quality Report (2013)
College Sustainability Report Card : Check here for the annual report card from the Sustainable Endowments Institute, which reviews the green practices of approximately three hundred public and private universities in all 50 states and 8 Canadian provinces, with grades determined by reviewing publicly available information, conducting surveys of school officials, and assessing performance across thirty-nine indicators in eight categories. Includes Michigan State University. Note: the report was suspended in 2012.
National Wildlife Federation’s Campus Ecology sustainability case study database, the only resource of its kind, is available online now, thanks in part to the support of The Kendeda Fund. The best green projects of 2012 highlight efforts to dramatically reduce pollution, waste, and costs, including recycling, energy efficiency improvements, renewable energy installations and green jobs training programs. With the addition of the “Best of 2012” submissions, the database now includes 800 case studies from colleges and universities across the U.S. and Canada spanning more than two decades. The work these campuses are doing coincide with NWF’s efforts to educate the American public about the need to reduce carbon pollution, the major cause of climate change. The recent destruction on the East Coast from Hurricane Sandy is just one example of how climate change is influencing weather patterns and putting both humans and wildlife in harm’s way. This national resource documents the transition in U.S. higher education to transform curricula, campus operations and communities in ways that prepare graduates to lead for an economically, socially and environmentally sustainable 21st century.
Michigan State University campus geographic information system (GIS)
Environmental Science & Policy Program - facilitates interdisciplinary environmental research at MSU and, in particular, links MSU research with national and global research priorities. Follow GreenBoard the MSU ESPP Blog. A good way to keep up with what's going on in ESPP and what it's various faculty and students are interested in.
Environmental Philosophy and Ethics - We are a community of graduate students and faculty in the Department of Philosophy at Michigan State University (MSU) who are engaged in research, teaching and outreach in environmental philosophy and ethics. Our work covers topics such as agricultural ethics, environmental justice, values in environmental sciences, food sovereignty, ecofeminism, environmental education, animal ethics, ecological restoration, climate justice, epistemic integration in environmental sciences, sustainability ethics and environmental pragmatism. Much of this work is in active dialogue with environmental and agricultural sciences and other humanities disciplines on campus, nationally and internationally. Faculty actively contribute to institutions such as the National Research Council’s Advisory Committee on Biotechnology, the Landscape Conservation Cooperative Council, the Northwest Climate Science Center and the Michigan Environmental Justice Coalition. Graduate student and faculty work has been funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Science Foundation, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Shalom Center for Justice and Peace, Spencer Foundation, Rockefeller Foundation, Sloan Foundation, Kellogg Biological Station, U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Great Lakes Integrated Sciences and Assessments Center, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service and the Sustainable Michigan Endowed Program. This community offers the opportunity for advanced study, research and engagement in environmental philosophy and ethics at the doctoral level, for students enrolled both in the Department of Philosophy and other doctoral programs at MSU. Contact Kyle Whyte for more information about the community
RISE Specialization in Environmental Studies and Study Abroad - The Environmental Studies Specialization sponsored by the College of Natural Science includes courses that examine both the physical and biological dimensions of the environment as well as sociopolitical interactions. The curriculum includes opportunities to study topics ranging from wetlands remediation to global information systems mapping (GIS). In addition, students may elect to study alongside world-class faculty engaged in environmental research. Follow Rise on Twitter.
Sustainability Agriculture & Food Systems Specialization - explores the biological, social and economic aspects of agriculture through integrated coursework and experiential learning, providing undergraduate students essential context to inform their fields of study.
MSU Department of Community Sustainability - The Department of Community Sustainability (CSUS) is a multidisciplinary department that focuses on combining the natural and social sciences to address contemporary issues of sustainability in agriculture, recreation, natural resources, and the environment.
Institute of Water Research - at MSU provides timely information for addressing contemporary land and water resource issues through coordinated multidisciplinary efforts using advanced information and networking systems.
Knight Center for Environmental Journalism - MSU's Knight Center for Environmental Journalism, in the College of Communication Arts and Sciences, focuses on research, training, and writing about environmental journalism and in communicating environmental issues to the public. The Center conducts research, assists scholars, organizes training institutes in the United States and around the world, produces educational materials, and houses the Meeman Archive, a collection of environmental reporting in newspapers, books, audio and video tapes, and other materials. Working journalists may be interested in the training institutes, conferences, listservs, and Web site links available at the Center's Web site. Also, a semi-annual magazine, EJ, produced through the Center, provides news and commentary on environmental journalism at MSU, and at the local, national, and international levels. The magazine is available for download on the Center's Web site. The Knight Center is also the American headquarters of the International Federation of Environmental Journalism.. Covering the Planet provides updates on program graduates and current students.
MSU Office of Campus Sustainability - The official website for the MSU Office of Campus Sustainability, and the University Committee for a Sustainable Campus. "Our mission is to foster a collaborative learning culture that leads the community to heightened awareness of its environmental impact. We envision MSU as a sustainable community that provides for the social and economic needs of its current and future members without compromising the health of our biosphere."
