Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Caring for Your Collections by
Call Number: folio AM303 .C37 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-30
Outlines the routine care and preventive maintenance of paintings, furniture, musical instruments, textiles, and other collectibles.
The Winterthur Guide to Caring for Your Collection by
Call Number: N5220.H494 W56 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Should you polish the silver? Where is the best place to store that family Bible? And what about the worn area in Aunt Alice's sampler? Should you try to repair the damage? The Winterthur Guide to Caring for Your Collection provides readers with answers to questions like these, along with practical advice on how to care for the objects they value. With chapters devoted to media ranging from paper and photographs to metalwork and textiles, the book presents a lucid approach to teaching the practical skills of conservation -- what to do and what not to do. In the second volume of the Winterthur Decorative Arts Series, the conservators at Winterthur call on their many years of experience to address the types of problems that people commonly encounter. Their advice and expertise will benefit all those concerned about the proper care of the objects they cherish.
Caring for Your Family Treasures by
Call Number: NK1127.5 .L66 2000
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
A guide to the conservation of family antiques, including books and documents, clocks and watches, silverware, jewellery, musical instruments, military mementos, dolls, teddy bears and toy soldiers. The book also considers security and insurance issues and has cleaning and storage advice.
Preserving Archives and Manuscripts
Caring for Your Treasures / American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
Guides for Taking Care of Your Personal Heritage
Proper care and maintenance of your family heirlooms and works of art will ensure that they are available for future generations to enjoy. To help you better care for your personal heritage, we have developed these guides for caring for you treasures.
Caring for Private and Family Collections / Northeast Document Conservation Center
Many of us have collections of personally significant materials. These may include diaries and letters handed down through generations or photographs of significant life events or even a set of old tickets stubs, but our diverse collections create a record of who we are and where we come from. These paper-based collections deteriorate over time, but making small changes in storage and handling can have a huge impact on the lifespan of the materials.
Guide to Collections Care / Gaylord Archival
Gives advice on the care and storage of paper, photographs, and textiles. Request a print copy, or download the PDF for free.
Matting and Framing
Preservation Guidelines for Matting and Framing / Library of Congress
Describes materials and methods designed to limit environmental (e.g., from light, water, humidity, airborne pollutants, dust, surrounding materials, etc.) risks to the displayed object. All materials used in the frame package must be chemically stable.
Conservation Framing / University Products
Guide to conservation quality matting and framing.
A Consumer Guide to Materials for Preservation Framing and the Display of Photographic Images / Image Permanence Institute
Framing and displaying your photographs (both traditional and modern digital) is one of the best ways to enjoy them and share them with your friends and family; however, it can also place great stress on them, resulting in fading, yellowing, embrittlement, and other types of decay, and ultimately reducing their life-span. The goal of this guide is to help you understand why photos on display become damaged and how thoughtful framing and display practices can help keep your pictures safe. Let’s start with describing the various parts of a good-quality frame.
Suppliers of Archival Storage Materials