Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

IAH 211: Indian Captivity Narratives and Midwestern Frontier (Sleeper-Smith): Additional Reference Resources

Bibliographies

American Indian Studies : a Bibliographic Guide / Phillip M. White.  Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1995.  163pp.  Main Library E77 .W52 1995 : Also available electronically.

Annotated Bibliography of Native American History from United States Federal Documents: Print and Online Resources / Brandon Burnette. Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Godort Occasional Papers, Number 7, June 2012. 

Bibliographies of Northern and Central California Indians .  Courtesy of the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California, Berekeley, 2012.

Bibliography of Native American Bibliographies / compiled by Phillip M. White.  Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2004. 241pp. Main Library Z1209.2.N67 W55 2004

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America  4th ed. (1975)

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America.4th ed. Supplement (1990)

European views of the Americas, 1493-1750 (2010)

Guide to Research on North American Indians (1983)

Indians Of North America : Methods And Sources For Library Research (1983)

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology With Index to Authors and Titles (online edition 1997)

Native Americans : an Annotated Bibliography (1991)

Native Americans and the Environment. Past Present and Future. Recommended Reading List.  Courtesy of the Wisconsin Water Library. 

Native Americans in Michigan : An Annotated Bibliography

Native American Repatriation and Reburial: A Bibliography

Portals to the Past : A Bibliographical and Resource Guide to Michigan's Upper Peninsula.  Russell M. Magnaghi.

 

 

Recommended Reference Tools

American Indian Tribes / edited by the editors of Salem Press ; project editor, R. Kent Rasmussen.  Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c2000.  2 vols. Main Library E77 .A53 2000 :

American Indians / consulting editor, Harvey Markowitz.  Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1995.  3 vols.  Main Library E76.2 .A45 1995 :

Atlas of the North American Indian.  Checkmark Books.  Main Library G1106.E1 W3 2009 : 

Chronology of American Indian History.  Facts on File. Main Library E77.S72 S66 2007 :

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World : 15,000 years of inventions and innovations.  Facts on File.  Main Library E54.5 .K46 2002 :

Encyclopedia of American Indian History.  ABC-Clio. Reference (1 Center) E77 .E48 2008.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today  / Russell M. Lawson.  Santa Barbara, CA : Greenwood, 2013.  E76.2 .E527 2013 Online :

Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement / Bruce E. Johansen.  Santa Barbara : Greenwood, c2013.  362pp.  Main Library E98.T77 J63 2013   (Online version coming soon):

Encyclopedia of American Indian Removal / Daniel F. Littlefield Jr. and James W. Parins, Editors.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2011.  2 volumes.  Main Library E98.R4 E63 2011 :

Encyclopedia of Native American History / Peter C. Mancall, editor.  New York, NY : Facts On File, c2011.  3 volumes. Main Library  E77 .M265 2011 :

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes.  Facts on File. Main Library E76.2 .W35 2006 :

The encyclopedia of North American colonial conflicts to 1775  : a political, social, and military history / Spencer C. Tucker, volume editor ; James Arnold and Roberta Wiener, editors, documents volume ; Paul G. Pierpaoli, Jr., associate editor ; Justin Murphy, Jim Piecuch, assistant editors.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2008.  3 volumes (1188pp.)  E181 .E6315 2008 Online  :

Encyclopedia of North American Indians (online). Also available online via Academic OneFile.   Print copy available  : Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, c1996.  756pp.  Main Library E76.2 .E53 1996 : 

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes.  Gale.  Main Library E77 .G15 1998  : 

Handbook of North American Indians.  Smithsonian Institution.  Reference and Main Library E76.2 .H36; also available in Government Documents Library (3 West), U.S. Documents Collection SI 1.20/2:

A Native American Encyclopedia : History, Culture, and Peoples / Barry M. Pritzker.   Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press , 2000.  591pp.  Main Library E76.2 .P75 1998

Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas.  Cambridge, England ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1996-2000.  Main Library E77 .N62 1996 | Also available electronically via Cambridge Histories Online : v. 1. North America / edited by Bruce G. Trigger, Wilcomb E. Washburn 

A Companion to American Indian History / edited by Philip J. Deloria and Neal Salisbury.  Malden, Mass. : Blackwell, 2002. 513pp.  Main Library  E77 .C74 2002  | Also available electronically :

A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians / Thomas Biolsi.  Malden, Mass : Blackwell Publishing, 2004.  Main Library E76.6 .C66 2004 (Also available online): ed'

Encyclopedia of American Indian Wars, 1492-1890.  ABC-Clio.  278pp.  Main Library E81 .K44 1997 :

Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare. Facts on File. Main Library E81 .E98 2005

The encyclopedia of North American Indian wars, 1607-1890 : a political, social, and military history / Spencer C. Tucker, editor ; James Arnold and Roberta Wiener, editors, documents volume ; Paul G. Pierpaoli, Jr., associate editor ; David Coffey, Jim Piecuch, assistant editors.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2011.  3 volumes.  Main Library E81 .E984 2011 :

Forgotten Fights : Little-Known Raids and Skirmishes on the Frontier, 1823 to 1890 / Gregory F. Michno and Susan J. Michno.  Missoula, Mont. : Mountain Press Pub. Co., 2008.  384pp.  Main Library E81 .M53 2008 :

Handbook of the American Frontier : Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships.  Scarecrow Press.  5 volumes. Main Library E76.2 .H43 1987 available in print.   Vols. 1-5 also  available online

Michigan State University