Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 486 Sec 002: Gender, Revolution and the CIA In Latin America: Finding Articles

Professor Edward Murphy, Fall 2017

Use Indexes to Find Articles

Current Indexes

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. Both cover Hispanics in the United States.    

Prisma

Indexes articles in more than 700 journals, most with a back file to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. More than 260 journals have full-text article access. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index)

Provides access to articles in journals published in Latin America, but also indexes the Latin America-related content of many major North American and European journals. Coverage from 1970 to the present. 

About a third of citations are linked to full-text outside of HAPI. Click through the Article Linker for full-text access from other sources.

Tip: HAPI assumes truncation. For example, “argentin” would return results including “argentina”, “argentine”, “argentinian”, etc.

Historical Abstracts

History of Latin America and other world areas excluding the United States and Canada. Index coverage is from 1954 forward.
[Allows only 6 simultaneous users! If you're unable to connect, try again later.]

America History and Life

Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history. Coverage of the literature is from 1964 forward.
[Allows only 6 simultaneous users! If you're unable to connect, try again later.]

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 12,000 journals, mostly peer-reviewed and with full-text, covering a variety of academic disciplines.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital archive of core scholary journals, providing access to issues from inception of journal to within a few years of the present.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

Scroll down to Terms You Need to Know (or What is Common Knowledge?) courtesy of Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services.

Michigan State University