Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 486 Sec 002: Gender, Revolution and the CIA In Latin America: Digital Primary Source Collections

Professor Edward Murphy, Fall 2017

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

The historical collections in World Scholar include original manuscripts, signed letters, reports, and ephemera. Two of the collections of possible interest for this class are “Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera,” and “FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador, December 1980.”

U.S. Government Documents

Digital National Security Archive

The most comprehensive collection of U.S. government primary documents available, this subscription resource offers access to government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. There are dozens of "complete collections," including several about the Cuban Missile Crisis, the U.S. and Nicaragua, and the U.S. and Guatemala. For documents on U.S. policy towards Chile, see "Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990" and the Kissinger telephone and transcript collections, or try the "Documents search" option. Materials are obtained by The National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute. Read more about the archive here.

The National Security Archive

A small sample of the documents in the National Security Archives' collections are presented on this freely accessible Web site, following essays called "Electronic Briefing Books." From the home page click on Documents, then choose Latin America from the Subject Areas list.

For example, Electronic Briefing Book no. 416, March 2013: OPERATION CONDOR ON TRIAL is a  "...posting of documents and evidence provided by the Archive to Argentine prosecutors..."

Chile

Chilean Protest Murals

Murals created during the dictatorship of General Augusto Pinochet (1973-1990). From Harvard College Library.

Memoria Chilena

For Spanish speakers. Try site-wide searching limited to time periods and/or material type (click on "catalogo," upper left side of screen) or explore one of the sections such as Historia--Siglo XX--El exilio--Documentos digitalizados.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University