Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 486 Sec 002: Gender, Revolution and the CIA In Latin America: Handbook of Latin American Studies

Professor Edward Murphy, Fall 2017

Handbook of Latin America Studies (HLAS)

The Handbook is a selective, annotated subject bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. The print edition of the Handbook has been issued annually since 1935, with volumes alternating between coverage in the social sciences and humanities. It is on the Web as HLAS Web and HLAS Online.

The Handbook Essays, 1990-2010

The Handbook essays are chapter introductions that provide a "state of the research" overview for a particular field. The essays for vols. 50 (1990)- 65 (2010) are linked from the individual volume Tables of Contents pages.

HLAS Online

To search the historical record of Latin American studies scholarship you need to consult HLAS Online, which includes all volumes since vol. 1 (1935). The introductory essays for volumes 1-49 of the Handbook are searchable in HLAS Online. To search only the essays, use the "Annotation and HLAS Chapter Introduction" field in the Expert Search form.

HLAS Web

Coverage is of vol. 50 (1990) and forward only. Offers a guided search feature and the ability to limit and sort search results by date or author. The essays in vols. 50-65 are only available as hard-coded links from the TOCs pages, as noted above.

Handbook of Latin American Studies.
[Z1601 .H23 Main]

The print volumes are particularly useful for browsing the subject essays in the latest volumes. The essays for vols. 66-70 (2011-2015) are only available in the print volumes.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University