Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health contains information on the actual catastrophic events - how, where, when, why each of these environmental conditions occurred - what impact the effect has and the kinds of health issues that arise from the event, how to identify the health issues, and how to treat the conditions through test, treatment, therapy, and public health response.
Illustrated Handbook of Toxicology by
Publication Date: 2011-01-26
The Illustrated Handbook of Toxicology serves as a hands-on guide to various poison treatments and offers supplemental public health information.The author distinguishes harmful toxic substances and catalogs their specific effects on the human body, plants, animals, and the surrounding environment.
Lu's Basic Toxicology by
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Continuing a long tradition, Lu¿s Basic Toxicology, Seventh Edition, combines relatively comprehensive coverage of toxic substances in food, air, and water with brevity, thereby continuing to serve as an updated introductory text for toxicology students and for those involved in allied sciences that require a background in toxicology. The new edition, which now becomes an edited work with contributions from experts around the globe, features four new chapters and a number of existing chapters that have been updated and expanded, notably those on mechanisms of toxic effects, conventional toxicity studies, the cardiovascular system, and risk assessment and regulatory toxicology. The book consists of four parts (Part I¿Part IV) that provide guidance on principles of toxicology and testing procedures for toxicities as well as a concise, yet detailed, mechanism of both target organ and nontarget organ toxicities. The book is rounded off with a final section (Part IV) on the toxic effects of chemicals and risk assessment, giving toxicologists, both students and practicing professionals, the necessary tools to enhance their practice. This edition includes new chapters on Clinical Toxicology, Systems Toxicology, Chemicals and Children, and Toxicology of Reproductive Systems, providing the essentials of these topics in the same style as the other chapters in the book. With separate subject and chemical indexes, this is a useful, quick shelf reference for everyone working in toxicology today.
Patty's Toxicology by
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Contains comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds, including CAS numbers, physical and chemical properties, exposure limits, and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures.
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition by
Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose A Doody's Core Title for 2019! "Poisoning & Drug Overdose belongs in every emergency physician's workroom." --Academic Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) "...a great addition to any emergency department library when rapid reference is needed to treat and diagnose the poisoned patient." -- Annals of Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, this instant-answer guide delivers critical information on the effective diagnosis and treatment of drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Enhanced by detailed tables and charts, extensive cross-referencing, and a comprehensive index, the Seventh Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect newly released drugs and the latest information on existing drugs. Poisoning & Drug Overdose is divided into four sections: Section 1 leads you through initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, hypotension, and other common complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced eliminations of poisons Section II provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons Section III describes the use and side effects of more than 80 antidotes and therapeutic drugs Section IV covers the medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures, and includes a table of more than 500 industrial chemicals Poisoning & Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition should be within reach of every medical toxicologist, emergency physician, and poison control staff member.
Useful Library Guides
1. The Drug Resources guide from the MSU Libraries references many resources for drug information.
The Pharmacology tab of that guide lists classic Pharmacology texts to which we have access.
The Drug Safety and Side Effects tab also has some useful resources (click on the Reactions, Interactions, Side Effects, and Overdose link on the left side).
2. The Toxicology Resources guide from the MSU Libraries has many resources for toxicology information and looking up the toxicology of different chemicals and substances.
Health Sciences Librarian