LibGuides: ADV 334: International Advertising: Company/Brand Analysis

Company Analysis

These resources will help answer the questions: What does the company primarily sell? How is the company doing financially? What are the major strengths and weaknesses of the company? What is the company's history?

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to D&B's Hoover's private and public U.S and international company data. It also contains a directory of U.S. consumers, industry profiles, and more.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
This enhanced business searching interface of BSC provides easy access to full text company financial data, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Mergent is good for finding company financials, SEC filings (US only) current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies, stock information, and executive information. It also has company history, competitors, company ownership (i.e. institutional holdings, insiders, etc.), corporate calendar, company news, industry profiles, and country profiles. ***To search the private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Includes separate tabs for Mergent Supply Chain, Mergent Bond Viewer, and Mergent Investext.***
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to:
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual
Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Covers nearly 500 major marketing campaigns that appeared from 1990 to 2005. Articles look at the campaign's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, strategy, and campaign outcome (what worked, what didn't and why).

Citing Your Sources

Find a number of examples of how to cite both print and electronic sources using APA, MLA, and Chicago style, as well as many other styles.

Citing Business Databases in APA Style

MSU Libraries

Guides

ADV 334: International Advertising

Class Presentation

Advertising Librarian

Company Analysis

Citing Your Sources