Recommended Databases
Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.
Online Reference Materials
Additional Guides
Recommended Databases
Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
Online Reference Materials
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessors, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, Third Edition explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect major advances over the past decade, this reference lists entries alphabetically and cross-r
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable -- and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic. The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, is a thorough revision of the previous award-winning version and reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others. New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, among many others, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision. It not only contains the most current and thorough information available on the topic, but also contains broader cross-referencing on emerging opportunities for potential treatment and prevention of diseases. An ideal starting point for scientific research, Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, Third Edition, continues to provide authoritative information in an accessible format, making this complex discipline available to readers at both the professional and non-professional level. Selected for inclusion in Doody's Core Titles 2013, an essential collection development tool for health sciences libraries Approximately 30% new content ensures readers have the latest research information Extensive cross-referencing provides key connections between topics in this multidisciplinary field Presents current information on relationships between disease and nutrition Covers thoroughly topics ranging from nutrient biochemistry and function to clinical nutrition and the epidemiology of diet, health and disease.
Handbook of Nutrition and Food, 3rd ed. by
The new edition of the Handbook of Nutrition and Food follows the format of the bestselling earlier editions, providing a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Completely revised, the third edition contains 20 new chapters, 50 percent new figures, and updates to most of the previously existi
Handbook of Behavior, Food and Nutrition by Additional Guides
Recommended Databases
Online Reference Materials
Additional Guides
Online Reference Materials
Manual of Lifestyle Medicine by
The fundamental premise of lifestyle medicine is that daily habits profoundly impact health and quality of life both in the short-term and long-term. Written by lifestyle medicine pioneer and cardiologist , Dr. James Rippe, this book provides a clinically oriented, evidence-based look into key lifestyle factors and how to prescribe them to individuals of all ages. Written for professionals working at all levels of medical and healthcare practice, this manual summarizes the major components of lifestyle medicine, from physical activity and nutrition to weight management and the avoidance of tobacco products. It includes clinical guidelines and practices for using lifestyle medicine principles to lower the risk of numerous chronic conditions. The manual also provides information on behavior change, approaches to lowering the risk of dementia, treatment of addictions and injury prevention. Features: Explains how lifestyle medicine can reduce the risk of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, osteoarthritis, dementia and many other chronic conditions. Chapters begin with bulleted key points and conclude with a list of clinical applications. Provides strategies for prescribing physical activity and helping patients improve their nutrition, lose weight if necessary and reduce stress. Includes clinically relevant sections on "Treating Addiction, Preventing Injury and Improving Brain Health". This book provides updated and clinically targeted summaries used in conjunction with Dr. Rippe's major academic textbook Lifestyle Medicine, now in its third edition, published by CRC Press/Taylor & Francis Group, LLC.
Additional Guides
Recommended Databases
Online Reference Materials
Achieving a Healthy Weight for Your Child: by 
Emotional Health and Well-Being by 
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving in Adulthood by 
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, 4th ed. by
Substantially revised to reflect current trends in the field of health behavior change, this new edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" text continues to provide a comprehensive overview of behavior change as it relates to public health. It has been extensively reorganized to eliminate redundancies in the earlier edition, and takes a broader, more pragmatic approach in its coverage of health behavior change.
How to Facilitate Lifestyle Change by
Group work and patient education are vital aspects of improving health outcomes in all settings, by supporting patients and clients to manage their conditions, as well as to promote and support behaviour change for improved health. Concise, accessible, and easy-to-read, this new title in the popular How To series is designed to support nutritionists, dietitians, nurses and other healthcare professionals to facilitate healthy lifestyle change through group education.
Internet applications in promoting health behavior by 
Promoting Public Mental Health and Well-Being by
This book explores the social, economic, political, cultural and environmental factors that affect mental health and well-being on a societal and individual level, and how prevention and intervention can enhance mental health. Taking a holistic approach to mental health, the book sets out effective strategies, from creating a supportive environment to building personal skills.
Visual Methods in Community-Based Research: Access to Preventive Health Services for Urban First Nations, Inuit and Metis Families by Additional Guides
