Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leads and supports efforts to advance a diverse, equitable and inclusive community and workplace consistent with Extension’s core values. Builds awareness (of self and others across differences) and prioritizes diverse relationships, networks and collaborations to build and include all Michigan’s population across program planning, delivery and evaluation. Open to understanding, historical and current barriers that impact constituents and colleagues lives at the personal, interpersonal, institutional and culture levels. Consistently upholds the highest standards of equity and inclusion in programs.
American Indian Histories and Culture
Sources From The Edward E. Ayer Collection At The Newberry Library, Chicago. Spanning four centuries and covering North and Central America, American Indian Histories and Cultures presents unique materials from one of the finest archival collections on American Indian history and culture available.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. The source documents indexed include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Race & Class, Ethnic & Racial Studies, Journal of Social Issues, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1975.
VIDEO: Diversity in the Workplace : Playing Your Part
1 streaming video file (23 min.)
In workplaces, as in any other part of society, people are diverse. They come from different cultures, and may have different belief systems, values, and religions. There is also diversity in interpersonal styles, mental ability, sexual orientation, age, and ways of thinking and learning. Using dramatized scenarios, this program shows how a wide range of personnel can work together successfully. Topics covered include the scope of diversity, responding sensitively, knowing the guidelines, communicating appropriately, and building on diversity.
Handbook of Research Methods in Diversity Management, Equality and Inclusion at Work by
Call Number: HM821 .H36 2018 Online
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) have become features of organizations as a result of both legal and societal advances as well as neoliberal economic reasoning. While current research approaches frequently fall short of addressing the challenges faced in EDI research, this benchmark Handbook brings coverage of research methods in EDI up to date, and advances the development of research in the field.
Getting along, Getting It Done, Getting Ahead by
Call Number: HD30.3 .H954 2015 Online
Publication Date: 2015-05-27
Because intercultural dynamics take place in domestic as well as multinational companies, all business professionals must be competent in interpersonal communication. This practical approach presents techniques for managers to reduce diversity miscues, strategies to respond to uncomfortable conversations, and innovative ways to bridge cultural gaps. Managers will learn how to build rapport and promote constructive behaviors in a diverse work environment. The book also offers guidelines for communicating internally as well as with external stakeholders, including a section on how to develop employees' communication competencies through formal training.
Intercultural Competence in Organizations: A guide for leaders, educators and team players by
Call Number: P94.6 .M388 2017eb Online
Publication Date: 2016-11-24
This book addresses one of the most critical issues facing global business leaders and the multicultural workforce - how to work and relate effectively in the intercultural contexts. Featuring examples and skill development exercises, this book will be appealing to professionals, practitioners, students, academics and policy makers in the field of international business, management and communication.
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity by
Call Number: JV6450 .O94 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores how Americans think of themselves and how science, religion, period of migration, gender, education, politics, and occupational mobility shape both this image and American life. Since the 1965 Immigration Act opened the gates to newer groups, historical writing on immigration and ethnicity has evolved over the years to include numerous immigrant sources and to provide trenchant analyses of American immigration and ethnicity. For the first time, this handbook brings together thirty leading scholars in the field to make sense of all the themes, methodologies, and trends that characterize the debate on American immigration. They examine a wide-range of topics, including pan-ethnicity, whiteness, intermarriage, bilingualism, religion, museum ethnic displays, naturalization, regional mobility, census categorization, immigration legislation and its reception, ethnicity-related crime and gang formation.
Video: Office induction series. Wellbeing by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018
Streaming video file (6 minutes). In this video, viewers will learn how to recognise the signs when pressures are beginning to affect their wellbeing, how to boost their wellbeing, several coping strategies and what to do if they feel that they may be affected by depression or anxiety.