Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

SPN 320, Sec. 004 & 005: Culture and Composition: Find Journal Articles

Grace Miller, Instructor, Fall 2017

MLA is premier index to worldwide literature scholarship

MLA provides access to scholarly research on language, literature, linguistics and folklore in over 3000 journals and series. Identifies articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, papers, etc. International in scope since 1956, but from 1921-1955 was limited to publications of the United States. The electronic versions include the Bibliography's entire print run since 1926.

MLA International Bibliography (standalone)

MLA International Bibliography (via Literature Online, LION)

MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Language and Literature. Vol. 1- , 1956- . New York: Modern Language Association, 1956- . Annual. [Z1007 .M6 Main Stacks]

Prisma and HAPI Online focus on Latin America, but are multi-disciplinary in scope.

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. Each is produced by a different provider however, utilizing different search algorithms and hence differing search results. Try both!

HAPI Online

Coverage from 1970 forward. Cites articles and book reviews in more than 600 social science and humanities journals with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

Many HAPI citations link to full-text. Click through the Article Linker for full-text access from other sources.

Tip: HAPI assumes truncation. For example, “argentin” would return results including “argentina”, “argentine”, “argentinian”, etc.

Prisma

More than 150 full-text titles are currently available, most with a backfile to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

General multi-disciplinary Indexes

Proquest Research Library

In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, and social sciences.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a collection of more than 8,000 journals, mostly peer-reviewed, covering a variety of academic disciplines. The majority of the content is available in full-text, both in HTML and PDF formats.

Humanities Full Text

Index to articles in over 600 humanities periodicals in archaeology, art, film, folklore, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Indexing with abstracts as far back as 1984 and full text of articles from nearly 250 journals as far back as 1995.

JSTOR

Full-text journal archive of scholarly journals, but does NOT include the most recent (3-5 years) issues.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
zeter@msu.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

What are abstracts?

Abstracts are brief summaries that describe the content and scope of an article. Abstracts allow researchers to quickly determine whether a particular article will be useful for a given research project.

Michigan State University