Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 486, Sec 001: Honor, Gender, Race and Nation in Latin American History: Reference Resources

Professor Peter Beattie, Fall 2017

Background Reading

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 
[F1406 .C36 1992 Main Reference]

A useful single volume encyclopedia, profusely illustrated. Organized into six broad sections: Physical environment, Economy, Peoples, History, Politics and Society, and Culture.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Coverage includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Utilize the general index to locate entries on your topic. 2008 ed.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics. Edited by Diana Kapiszewski; Alexander Kazan, assistant editor. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002.
[F1410 .E56 2001 Main Reference]

Arranged by country, with articles consisting of country profiles, an overview of the country and its history and encyclopedic entries on subjects and important political and literary figures. Excellent bibliographies of general works and electronic resources, followed by the same for each country.

Encyclopedia of the Cold War. Rudd Van Dijk, et. al. New York: Routledge, 2008. (2 vols.)
[D840 .E625 2008, Main Reference]

The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest

Try browsing by place name. Under Argentina, for example, there are several short essays related to Cold War era events. Topics covered include civil disobedience, labor movements, strikes, guerilla war, etc.

Selected Reference Resources

Dictionary of Political Biography

Encyclopedia of Human Rights. 5 vols. David P. Forsythe, ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
[and in print: JC571 .E673 2009 Main Reference]

Historical Dictionary of the "Dirty Wars. David R. Kohut, Lanham, MD : Rowman & Littlefield, [2016]
[and in print: F2849.2 .K64 2010 Main Stacks] and 1st ed. [F2849.2 .K64 2003]

Historical Dictionary of United States-Latin American Relations. Joseph Smith, ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
[F1418 .S638 2007 Main Stacks]

Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia. Edited byJennifer Speake. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. (3 vols.)
[G465 .L565 Main Stacks]

"Leads readers to the individuals who wrote about their travels and lists editions of their writing--primarily, but not always, in English"--(Booklist Reviews, March 1, 2004). Entries include people, places and topics related to travel; utilize geographic entries for bibliographies of travel writing. Caveat: Some well-known travel writers lack entries in this work.

A Reference Guide to Latin American History. James D. Henderson, Helen Delpar, Maurice P. Brungardt, editors. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, c2000.
[F1410 .R395 2000 Main Reference]

Presents a chronology of Latin American history and identifies key figures.

Schwartz, Richard Alan. The Cold War Reference Guide: A General History and Annotated Chronology with Selected Biographies. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c1997. [D843 .S3365 1997 Main Stacks]

One of a number of guides, historical dictionaries and encyclopedias focused on the Cold War. Check shelves in Reference, in the vicinity of D839-D843.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference searches numerous online reference works simultaneously, including the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

Scroll down to Terms You Need to Know (or What is Common Knowledge?) courtesy of Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University