LibGuides: African Studies at the MSU Libraries: Secondary Sources

Secondary Source Databases

While not comprehensive, these databases are a good place to get started with an African-based project.

African Journals Online
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world’s largest online library of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
Cairn
Francophone scholarly periodicals, some of which cover Africa.
Sabinet
Searchable database of full text journals published in South Africa in the areas of social sciences and humanities.

African Studies Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window
African Studies Abstracts Online is the new electronic journal of the African Studies Centre in Leiden. Like its printed predecessor (African Studies Abstracts), African Studies Abstracts Online provides an overview of articles from periodicals and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the library of the African Studies Centre in Leiden.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Contains these databases:

American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Computer Science Index
Environment Index
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index
Gender Studies Database
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Index Islamicus
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
New Testament Abstracts
Old Testament Abstracts
SPORTDiscus
Race Relations Abstracts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
ProQuest (All databases) This link opens in a new window

New to MSUL!

Oxford Research Encyclopedia - African History
New subscription encyclopedia with new content added regularly. A valuable new resource!
Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Politics
Significant African content on this continually expanding encyclopedic resource.

MSU Libraries' Search Tool

Tips for Catalog Searching

MSU Libraries Catalog

To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the catalog, which has materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries - including books - and also journal titles, government documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.

What's in the catalog?

Everything in the library except for articles.
Names of journals, magazines, and newspapers with info about our subscriptions, plus links.

What's not in the catalog?

Indexed articles - many African published journals are not in commercial databases like JSTOR, but the articles are also not in the catalog.

Bibliographies

Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database (AfricaBib) This link opens in a new window
1763-Current

The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography)

Oxford African Studies Bibliograhies
Recent Doctoral Disserations
The documents here are part of a project begun in 1980. The basic reports list new American and Canadian theses that were abstracted in ProQuest dissertations & theses (formerly, Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI)), which should be consulted for further details. They supplement American and Canadian Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses on Africa, 1974-1987 (1989).

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

African Studies at the MSU Libraries: Secondary Sources

Secondary Source Databases

New to MSUL!

MSU Libraries' Search Tool

Tips for Catalog Searching

Bibliographies