East Asian Guides: China

The China Project is a New York-based, China-focused news, information, and business services platform covering the business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China.

The Chinese Students Monthly is a significant English language journal published by Chinese students in America during 1906-1931. Some of their American professors who were interested in China were also regular contributors to the journal. The journal is an indispensable primary source for scholars of Chinese history. The journal focuses on political, social, and cultural issues of China at that time.

The database has thousands of Chinese full-text journals. All the articles have English abstracts, but the full-text is only in Chinese.

China's National Bureau of Statistics.

Current news and features in English.

It is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world. It covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.

Ta Kung Pao was first published on June 17, 1902 in Tianjin. It has various editions in different cities (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, and Guilin). In its prime time, it was simultaneously published in four different places in China. In 1941, Ta Kung Pao was voted the best foreign newspaper of the year by the Missouri School of Journalism. This database covers 1802-1949, and it is full-text searchable.

China on Film features an exciting selection of documentary and actuality film footage from the British Film Institute, filmed through the eyes of predominantly Western travellers. Through a combination of amateur films, travelogues and newsreels, this resource provides a unique perspective on both everyday life and some of the key events of modern Chinese history.

Books of Modern China published between 1840 and 1949. Includes Picture Gallery of Chinese Modern Literature (1833-1949), Series 1-8 (click Image Search to access gallery).

This resources provides a centralized means for discovery and access to a variety of Chinese resources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, patents, and more.

The database Provides data on China, including macroeconomic statistics, economic reports, city statistics, regional statistics, industrial statistics, yearbooks, etc.

English resources from Wason Pamphlet Collection, Cornell University, spanning three centuries (1750-1929), covering a wide variety of research interests and topics surrounding China.

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection is a part of East View Global Press Archive, providing invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century.

The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980:

1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International
1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis
1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory
1949-1956: The Communist revolution
1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward
1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution

Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.

Sources from the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London: 1793-1980
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.

This is the database of articles from Christian Missions in Asia, mostly in China from 1867-1941. Printed copies of the journals are available from the MSU library.

This collection pulls together more than 2,000 documents concerning the relationship between the United States and China, with an emphasis on the 1969-1998 time period. The documents include memos, cables, and studies concerning U.S. diplomatic relations with China, records concerning the U.S.-PRC security relationship, documents related to the economic and scientific association with the PRC, and intelligence estimates and studies concerning the PRC's foreign policy objectives, military capabilities, and internal situation.