It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
American Song (streaming music)American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 728 albums -- more than 12,103 tracks.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert HallBerliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall live-broadcasts approximately 40 concerts every season, while providing access to hundreds of archived performances dating back to 1966. Also included are numerous documentaries and interviews, accessible on virtually any device in high definition format.
Some parts of site require free personal account.
Classical Music Library (streaming music)Classical Music Library includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music (streaming music)Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This release includes 1,082 albums, equalling 14,235 tracks, growing regularly.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field RecordingsProduced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings is comprised of over 60 field collections from ethnomusicologists dating from the mid-twentieth century to the early twenty-first century. This resource also features material from the University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archive relating to prominent ethnomusicologist Robert Garfias.
The audio recordings, videos, field notebooks and journals in this resource document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures all over the globe. There are recordings from Alaska to the Pacific Islands, West Africa to Indonesia, including religious music, secular music, celebrations and funerals. There are interviews with musicians, slides and photographs of field sites and photographs of instruments being played and in isolation.
Jazz Music Library (streaming music)Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
medici.tvOnline collection of classical music videos.
Met Opera on DemandThis resource provides access to more than 600 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met's Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970's, '80's, and '90's, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
1.Log into NML on a computer and sign up on the institution Playlist Page.
2. After completing the Sign Up Form, you will receive an email. Complete the registration process by clicking the activation link in that email.
3. Download the app from your respective store – App Store for iOS and Google Play for Android devices.
4. Log in with your email address and password that you just created.
Smithsonian Global Sound (streaming music)Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
Literature Resource Center with Complete Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors Series provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines in a single Internet-searchable service. Its resources cover more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with additional in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most studied authors.