Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
Includes: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I & II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and L'Enfer de la Bibilothèque Nationale de France.
This database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.
John Snow's contributions during the early years of inhalation anesthesia, and his investigations during two mid-century cholera epidemics in Victorian London, are landmarks in anesthesiology, epidemiology, medical cartography, and public health. An important full-text collection of Historical Medicine documents.
Medical Services and Warfare presents digitized primary source material including military, scientific, professional and personal perspectives on medicine during conflicts across the globe from 1850-1949. Students and scholars can research medical developments including x-rays, plastic surgery and artificial limbs, with a focus on rehabilitation, nursing and the psychological toll of war. Highlights include the personal correspondence of Florence Nightingale and the scientific notebooks of Alexander Fleming (both now fully searchable thanks to innovative Handwritten Text Recognition technology), the diaries of VADs, hospital records, and literature from the Red Cross.
Enabling comparisons of medical advances across conflicts, the resource includes documents from the Crimean War, the Boer Wars, the American Civil War, the First World War, the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War and inter- and post-war periods. Through analogous hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, users can chart the progress of scientific advances informed by the experience of war.
Includes Module I: 1850-1927, and Module II: 1928-1949.
This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family allows students and researchers to immerse themselves in the values and behaviors of Americans of the past. The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
