Opinion & Viewpoint Sources - ISB 202 - Ording (Summer 2019) - LibGuides at Michigan State University Libraries

Viewpoint Sources

These resources contain a wide variety of opinions and arguments about many topics, some of which have more scientific merit and others that may have less. CQ Researcher reports contain a "Pro/Con" section.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database covering a variety of social issues including gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism. This resource contains articles from the popular Greenhaven Press series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion Series, as well as statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of special interest groups and more.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive 1923-present This link opens in a new window
This web file provides 48 reports a year on current, hot, and controversial topics such as "Embryo Research," "Rethinking Ritalin," "Drinking on Campus," and "Subsidized Access to the Internet for the Poor." Among the file's beauties are its balanced introductions to these issues; others include its generous selection of cross references to past reports, excellent tables and graphs, and clear instructions on how to cite the resource. A full text product.

More Viewpoint Help

Public Opinion and Social Attitudes Data

Quick Picks - Favorite Resources

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
One of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.

Gallup Brain This link opens in a new window
Providing eight decades of insight, the Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of public opinion dating back to 1935.

Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 80 countries around the world. Includes polls from local U.S. areas. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues.
State of the State Survey
The State of the State Survey is the only survey conducted in Michigan designed to systematically monitor the public mood on important issues in major regions of the state. Administered here at MSU by the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
New interface for LexisNexis Academic. A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. Also includes Gallup Poll News Service.
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data from the Gallup World Poll.

Pew Global Attitudes & Trends
A series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 175,000 interviews in 55 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

ISB 202 - Ording (Summer 2019): Opinion & Viewpoint Sources

Viewpoint Sources

More Viewpoint Help

Quick Picks - Favorite Resources