Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual and Online Resources
Female Figure (Akua'ba)
Wood and beads
Broad Art Museum
Michigan State University
Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List
Compiled by Janet Stanley, this reading list updates and continues the printed version of the same name.
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume print Grove Dictionary of Art. The 41,000 articles range from brief entries to articles of several hundred pages, each accompanied by scholarly bibliographies. All aspects of the visual arts are covered, including painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the present. Although most images from the print version are not included due to copyright restrictions, access to 15,000 external images is available. Images from the Bridgeman Art Library are also searchable.
Broad Art Museum online catalog
The Broad Art Museum contains many fine examples of African art in their collection. You can search the collection online by using the term "Africa" or "African".
Fowler Museum at UCLA
The Arts of Africa and the African Diaspora collection at the Fowler Museum is one of the world's premier collections of African art.
Museum for African Art
The Museum for African Art is dedicated to the arts and cultures of Africa and the African Diaspora.
National Museum of African Art
This site is a great resource for images, and you can connect to the catalog of the Warren M. Robbins Library. The library "..is the major resource center in the world for the research and study of the visual arts of Africa. It houses more than 32,000 volumes on African art, history and culture."