LibGuides: Parks, Recreation, and Leisure: Find Articles

Articles - the basics

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study.

Most professors and researchers prefer articles that are "scholarly" in nature. Characteristics of scholarly journals are that they have the following qualities:

The articles contain original research (such as scientific experiments, surveys and research studies)
A list of references or sources is provided at the end of each article
An editorial board, composed of experts in the field, reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted; this is also known as "refereed," "peer-reviewed," "professional," or "academic".
Uses a specialized vocabulary for that field.
Contain few if any advertisements. If included, they are highly specialized and specific to scholarly discipline (i.e. specific laboratory equipment, medical tools and drugs).
If you are uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you all look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database Ulrichs Periodical Directory (UlrichsWeb). This database will tell you about the journal including the nature, it's audience, and in which databases it is indexed and abstracted.

The Library Catalog contains the titles to all of the print and electronic format journals that we subscribe to. The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. The individual articles can be found in article databases.

Citation searching: If you have a citation to an article, the easiest way to locate the article is to look up the title of the journal in the catalog. Identify whether we own the journal and the format, print or electronic. If in electronic format, do we have that year/volume? If yes, you can click on the link provided to go directly to the online articles and find the one you need. If it is not online, do we have it in print? If so, identify the call number and go to the stacks to find the proper volume and issue. If we do not own the journal or issue, you can request the article through Interlibrary Services.

Find Articles

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window 1910- CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes full-text articles, company and country reports, and books.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window 1975-present A unique database that covers the complete range of sport disciplines and subdisciplines, including sports medicine, kinesiology, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography and more.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window 1970- Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window 1983- Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
ERIC (on ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC blends two files: Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals and Resources in Education (RIE), covering other research document literature, such as conference papers, books, theses, and research reports.
FS Info This link opens in a new window
FS INFO is the on-line catalog for the USDA Forest Service libraries. It contains approximately 200,000 records of natural resources literature--with an emphasis on North America. A major component of the database is approximately 70,000 records for publications authored, sponsored, or produced by the Forest Service--about 10% of these include hot links to full--text. The FS records go back to the formation of the Forest Service in the early 1900's. FS INFO includes bibliographic records for books, technical reports, theses, journal articles, chapters in books, and other literature relevant to the mission of the Forest Service. Nearly all current Forest Service publications are available with full-text on line. However, most older publications are not. Forest Products Laboratory International Institute of Tropical Forestry North Central Research Station Northeastern Research Station Rocky Mountain Research Station
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program
The Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program of the U.S. Forest Service provides the information needed to assess America's forests. FIA reports on status and trends in forest area and location; in the species, size, and health of trees; in total tree growth, mortality, and removals by harvest; in wood production and utilization rates by various products; and in forest land ownership
Species in Parks: Flora and Fauna Databases
The Information Center for the Environment, in conjunction with the National Park Service, developed preliminary databases of plant and vertebrate animal species reported to occur within lands managed by the U.S. National Park Service. These databases standardize both structure and content.
eFloras
Detailed descriptions of plants in a database searchable by taxa.
TreeGenes
The TreeGenes database provides custom informatics tools to manage the flood of information resulting from high-throughput genomics projects in forest trees from sample collection to downstream analysis. Formerly known as Dendrome.
USFWS, Branch of Fire Management
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service manages fire safely and cost-effectively to improve the condition of lands while reducing the risk of damaging wildfires to surrounding communities. This balanced approach to fire management benefits people and wildlife.
Fire Effects Information System (FEIS)
FEIS provides up-to-date information on fire effects on plants and animals. Searchable by plant species, wildlife species, and natural vegetation type.
DUCKDATA
DUCKDATA provides a comprehensive bibliography of published literature on the ecology, conservation, and management of North American waterfowl and their wetland habitats. It contains 14,913 records. The primary objective of DUCKDATA is to provide access to the extensive literature concerning North American waterfowl, including references emphasizing wetlands but having implications for waterfowl ecology, conservation, and management.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Parks, Recreation, and Leisure: Find Articles

Articles - the basics

Find Articles