Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes and Full-text Reports: General
Search tip: Many of the online indexes may not have a
specific report number search feature, but report numbers can usually
be searched using a keyword search.
"a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results." Allows users to browse or search government scientific databases from major science agencies using a single search.
NTIS National Technical Information Service
Scope: citations for technical reports from many federal agencies. Users can create a free account to access the full text of many of these reports.
If there is no full text available online, then check if reports are available at the MSU Library. Otherwise use interlibrary loan service to request from another library.
NTIS Report Indexes (1946-1995)
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Content still being added. Currently includes Bureau of Mines, AEC & National Bureau of Standards reports.
Virtual Technical Reports Center
This site contains links to ther web sites with searchable extended abstracts or full-text technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.