Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. and International Patent Databases
Note: Some journal/literature indexes may also include related patents. Check the MSU E-Resources
Derwent Innovations Index
Derwent Innovations Index® facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. overs over 14.3 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities (1963-present).
Search full text (PDF) of patents from 1790-present. Advanced Search allows searching by assignee, inventor, date, etc. Includes patents from the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, and the World Intellectual Property Organization. Google translates patents into English.. Google Patents has fewer search fields than USPTO or Free Patents Online. Also, the most recent patents aren't always listed, so you could find holes in the Google Patents database.
LexisNexis Academic: Patents
Search full text or by number, dates, assignee, inventor, title, abstract, exemplary claims for recent years, and U.S. and international classifications and lawyer. Includes the full text of all European patent applications and granted patents published since 10/1978, Japanese patent abstracts (1976-), and Patent Cooperation Treaty Patent Applications (1978-). Use the Sources menu to select collections to search.
Global patent database with particularly strong coverage of U.S., European, WIPO and Japanese patents.
Some patents have full text.
Offers text searches of U.S. patents from 1920-1976 with bibliographic data from 1850 onward. Includes PDFs of US patents. Also contains data on over 100 million patent documents from around the world.
Free chemical structure searching of US patents. Requires free registration. The quick search is only for U.S. patents, but the advanced search includes foreign patents.
It includes over 73 million patent documents: PCT and national/regional collections, AI-based developed-in translation tool, chemical structure search and CLIR that finds synonymous search terms and translates everything into 13 languages, granting users access to documents published in other languages.
For Literature and Patent Searching. Patent agencies searched include the US Patent & Trademark Office, the European Patent Office, the Japan Patent Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office
Web of Science
Type U.S. patent number into cited work field to identify articles that cite the patent.
Subject-specific databases for finding patents:
Engineering Village 2
Subject: Engineering. Using the default of "All fields" in the "Quick Search' drop-down retrieves results from the fields of Patent Number, Inventor, US Classification, International Patent Classification, etc.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
Subject: Food Science. FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition. Can limit searches to "Patent Assignee".
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Subject: Material Science. This links to the Advanced Search screen, where you can limit your searches to the Document Type "Patent."
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy & Legislative Database
This database contains Federal and State laws/statutes; Federal legislative materials; and Federal administrative and executive materials, including regulations, institutional policies, and executive orders. The database currently focuses on the following subject areas: privacy of genetic information/confidentiality; informed consent; insurance and employment discrimination; genetic testing and counseling; and commercialization and patenting.