Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Selected Basic Resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Quick Reference

Handbooks Online and in Print

Area Handbook Series. Washington, DC: American University, 19-
[D101.22:550- Government Documents Collection, U.S. Documents]
Country Studies On-line

Commonly known as the "Country Study Series," because titles in the print series are now published in the form [Country]: A Country Study, and can be searched that way in the catalog. Provides economic, political and social information for most of the world's countries. Country Studies On-line offers convenient searchable access, but researchers should note the "research completed" dates at the beginning of each study. Older editions were published as: Area Handbook for [Country].

Nations of the World. Lakeville, CT : Grey House, 2000- . Annual.
[HC10 .N36 Latest edition (2018) in Area Studies Reference. Earlier editions in Business Library]

Offers industry and trade information and a “select directory of business offices, ministries, and other pertinent offices.”

South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1986- . Biennial.
[F1401 .S68 Latest edition (2013) in Main Reference. Earlier editions in Remote Storage]

Provides “a survey of the political and economic life both of the region and of the 48 countries and territories within it.” Part One presents articles of regional interest, Part Two consists of chapters on the major countries of the region. Each country’s directory section has key contact information for government, political, business, and religious institutions.

World Factbook. Washington, D.C.: Central Intelligence Agency, 1981-
[PrEx 3.15: Latest available print edition in Closed Main Reference, ask at desk. Earlier editions in Government Documents Collection, U.S. Documents]

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

Scroll down to Terms You Need to Know (or What is Common Knowledge?) courtesy of Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services.

Michigan State University