Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you
- explore a topic (find out what has been said about a topic, trends, issues, etc.
- identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- find references to other books and articles on the topic, and
- find keywords to use in online searches.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.This is the ideal reference for students studying these subjects and anyone with an interest in environment and conservation.
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, aswell as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions.The Dictionary also provides recommended web links which are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. Appendices include a revised geological time scale, an updated bibliography, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strength scales, and SI units. Thisdictionary is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in in related disciplines.
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
A Dictionary of Human Geography by A Dictionary of Human Geography is a brand new addition to Oxford's Paperback Reference Series, offering over 2,000 clear and concise entries on human geography terms. From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organisations, and major periods and schools in the historyof human geography, it provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.It also includes entry-level web links that are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. This dictionary is a reliable reference for students of human geography and ancillary subjects, for researchers and professionals in the field, and for interested generalists.
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism by Environmentalism involves hundreds of international environmental groups, thousands of national groups, and tens of thousands of local ones. It also includes hundreds of international agreements, hundreds of national environmental agencies, and countless environmental sections in other organizations_from those in multinational corporations to ones in regional and international organizations. Such environmental concepts as sustainable development, the precautionary principle, corporate social responsibility, and eco-labeling percolate from all of these sources. Every year, new ideas, refinements, policies, institutions, markets, and problems continue to enter into environmental debates and discourses, making it nearly impossible to keep abreast of the changes constantly taking place. With this constant shifting landscape in mind, the Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism strategically skips across issues, concepts, time, organizations, and cultures, not with any pretense of producing a definitive dictionary but rather with the aim of producing an inclusive, wide-ranging, and global history of environmentalism. This goal is accomplished through a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries.
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering by Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. From its origins in public health practice, concern for the well-being of our environment has embraced areas as diverse as chemistry, the earth sciences, biology, engineering and law. The specialist language of any discipline can be a barrier to co-operation and understanding in solving environmental problems. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.
Call Number: GE10 .P43 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-25
The Dictionary of Global Sustainability by The Dictionary of Global Sustainability is intended to serve as a quick reference guide to “green” professionals (architects, developers, realtors, and builders), corporations, industries, governments, instructors, students, and other individuals seeking a better understanding of sustainable concepts. The volume provides nearly 2800 key sustainable terms, as well as a listing of organizations and scholarly and trade journals (domestic and international) that will lead the reader to valuable research materials. Case studies that examine sustainability projects from around the world are also included to illustrate the theory and practice of environmental, economic, technological, and social aspects of sustainability.
Call Number: GE196 .G75 2013
Publication Date: 2012-01-06
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change by This book covers changes affecting the earth over geological, intermediate, and short timescales, including pre-Quaternary, Quaternary, Holocene, historical, and current environmental changes. Recent climatic change is a major focus, but other topics covered in detail relate to natural andhuman-induced changes to the lithosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere.
Call Number: GE10 .E534 2001
Publication Date: 2001-11-08
Climate Change by This book provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue. * Contributions from more than 100 experts * Excerpts from reports from international organizations such as the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) * Transcripts of speeches from world leaders on the climate change issue * Sidebars on the "climate-history connection" explore the possible links between climate and key events through history, such as the Classical Maya collapse * Essential, annotated primary sources * Quotes from policy makers, scientists, eyewitnesses to climate change, and social and cultural leaders
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather by The Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather Second Edition is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with many additions, and revisions since the publication of the First Edition in 1996. In over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, thecirculation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather eventsfrom extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. New to this edition are articles on headline-grabbing topics that include the Kyoto Protocol, global warming, tradable permits, and extreme weather.Each entry is fully cross-referenced, to both definitions of weather- and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 300 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions around the world and across time. TheEncyclopedia is also equipped with historical examples of disasters caused by bad weather, milestones in the development of the atmospheric sciences, and the geological time scale, making it a comprehensive and authoritative resource for anyone doing research in this area or working in thefield.
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste by In our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important to understand and appreciate all cultures across the world. The four volumes take a step forward in this endeavour by presenting concise information on those regions least well-known to students across Europe: the Middle East, Asia and Africa. The volumes convey what daily life is like for people in these selected regions. Entries will aid readers in understanding the importance of cultural sociology, to appreciate the effects of cultural forces around the world, and to learn the history of countries and cultures within these important regions. Key Features -Topics are explored within historical context, in three broad historical periods: prehistory to 1250, 1250 to 1920 and 1920 to the present. -One volume each is devoted to the regions of the Middle East and Africa and then one volume to East and Southeast Asia and a final volume to West, Central and South Asia. The volumes include extensive use of photographs and maps to explain cultural and geographic content. -Each volume has its own volume editor with expertise in that particular region. Key Themes Arts, Culture and Science People, Society and Dynasties Religion and Law Family and Daily Life Conflicts and Wars Politics and Government Health and Education Economy, Trade and Industry National Geography and History
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and Environmental Economics by Every decision about energy involves its price and cost. The price of gasoline and the cost of buying from foreign producers; the price of nuclear and hydroelectricity and the costs to our ecosystems; the price of electricity from coal-fired plants and the cost to the atmosphere. Giving life to inventions, lifestyle changes, geopolitical shifts, and things in-between, energy economics is of high interest to Academia, Corporations and Governments. For economists, energy economics is one of three subdisciplines which, taken together, compose an economic approach to the exploitation and preservation of natural resources: energy economics, which focuses on energy-related subjects such as renewable energy, hydropower, nuclear power, and the political economy of energy resource economics, which covers subjects in land and water use, such as mining, fisheries, agriculture, and forests environmental economics, which takes a broader view of natural resources through economic concepts such as risk, valuation, regulation, and distribution Although the three are closely related, they are not often presented as an integrated whole. This Encyclopedia has done just that by unifying these fields into a high-quality and unique overview. The only reference work that codifies the relationships among the three subdisciplines: energy economics, resource economics and environmental economics. Understanding these relationships just became simpler! Nobel Prize Winning Editor-in-Chief (joint recipient 2007 Peace Prize), Jason Shogren, has demonstrated excellent team work again, by coordinating and steering his Editorial Board to produce a cohesive work that guides the user seamlessly through the diverse topics This work contains in equal parts information from and about business, academic, and government perspectives and is intended to serve as a tool for unifying and systematizing research and analysis in business, universities, and government
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change by Accessibly written by a team of international authors, the Encyclopedia of Environmental Change provides a gateway to the complex facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change.nbsp; This three-volume set illustrates and examines topics within this dynamic and rapidly changing interdisciplinary field.nbsp; The encyclopedia includes all of the following aspects of environmental change: Diverse evidence of environmental change, including climate change and changes on land and in the oceans Underlyingnbsp;natural andnbsp;anthropogenic causes and mechanisms Wide-ranging local, regional and globalnbsp;impactsnbsp;from the polar regions to the tropics Responses of geo-ecosystems and human-environmental systems in the face of past, present and future environmental change Approaches, methodologies and techniques used for reconstructing, dating, monitoring, modelling, projecting and predicting change Social, economic and political dimensions of environmental issues,nbsp;environmental conservation andnbsp;management and environmental policy nbsp; Over 4,000 entries explore the following key themes and more: Conservation Demographic change Environmental management Environmental policy Environmental security Food security Glaciation Green Revolution Human impact on environment Industrialization Landuse change Military impacts on environment Mining and mining impacts Nuclear energy Pollution Renewable resources Solar energy Sustainability Tourism Trade Water resources Water security Wildlife conservation The comprehensive coverage of terminology includes layers of entries ranging from one-line definitions to short essays, making this an invaluable companion for any student of physical geography, environmental geography or environmental sciences.
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Where does the environment leave off and society begin? When expanding production and consumption drives greenhouse gas emissions that warm the planet, which in turn influence the conditions of economic expansion, it is unclear where the climate ends and the economy begins. This fact is not new to our era, however, our social and natural sciences have only recently come to grips with the incredible complexity of the world described by understanding the environment and society as being of a piece. As a result, in the last decade there has been an unprecedented explosion of new concepts, theories, facts, and techniques that follow from such an understanding. The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The four volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues. Key Features - Examines many new ideas about how the world works, what creates the daunting problems of our time, and how such issues might be addressed, whether by regulation, markets, or new ethics - Demonstrates how theories of environmental management based on market efficiency may not be easily reconciled with those that focus on population, and both may certainly diverge from those centering on ethics, justice, or labor - Offers contributions from experts in their fields of specialty including geographers, political scientists, chemists, anthropologists, medical practitioners, development experts, and sociologists, among many others - Explores the emerging socio-environmental problems that we face in the next century as well as the shifting and expanding theoretical tools available for tackling these problems - Covers regions of North America in greater detail but also provides a comprehensive picture that approaches, as effectively as possible, a cohesive global vision Key Themes - Agriculture - Animals - Biology and Chemistry - Climate - Conservation and Ecology - Countries - Geography - History - Movements and Regulations - Organizations - People - Politics - Pollution - Society Packed with essential and up-to-date information on the state of the global socio-environment, the Encyclopedia of Environment and Society is a time capsule of its historic moment, and a record of where we stand at the start of the 21st century, making it a must-have resource for any library. These inspiring volumes provide an opportunity for more new ways of thinking, behaving, and living in a more-than-human world.
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters by Inland aquatic habitats occur world-wide at all scales from marshes, swamps and temporary puddles, to ponds, lakes and inland seas; from streams and creeks to rolling rivers. Vital for biological diversity, ecosystem function and as resources for human life, commerce and leisure, inland waters are a vital component of life on Earth. The Encyclopedia of Inland Waters describes and explains all the basic features of the subject, from water chemistry and physics, to the biology of aquatic creatures and the complex function and balance of aquatic ecosystems of varying size and complexity. Used and abused as an essential resource, it is vital that we understand and manage them as much as we appreciate and enjoy them. This extraordinary reference brings together the very best research to provide the basic and advanced information necessary for scientists to understand these ecosystems - and for water resource managers and consultants to manage and protect them for future generations. Encyclopedic reference to Limnology - a key core subject in ecology taught as a specialist course in universities Over 240 topic related articles cover the field Gene Likens is a renowned limnologist and conservationist, Emeritus Director of the Institute of Ecosystems Research, elected member of the American Philosophical Society and recipient of the 2001 National Medal of Science Subject Section Editors and authors include the very best research workers in the field
Publication Date: 2009-03-19
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Government and the Environment by A timely, new resource on the history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy. * 200 alphabetically organized entries on all aspects of the development of U.S. environmental policy—the events, issues, people, and politics * 100 expert contributors—scholars from a wide range of disciplines—draw on the latest research * A timeline of major laws, events, and governmental agencies related to environmental policy * A bibliography of important books and essays on U.S. government environmental policy in print and on online
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Encyclopedia of Transportation by Viewing transportation through the lens of current social, economic, and policy aspects, this four-volume reference work explores the topic of transportation across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas, including geography, public policy, business, and economics. Features: Approximately 675 signed articles authored by prominent scholars are arranged in A-to-Z fashion and conclude with Further Readings and cross references. A Chronology helps readers put individual events into historical context; a Reader's Guide organizes entries by broad topical or thematic areas; a detailed index helps users quickly locate entries of most immediate interest; and a Resource Guide provides a list of journals, books, and associations and their websites. While articles were written to avoid jargon as much as possible, a Glossary provides quick definitions of technical terms. To ensure full, well-rounded coverage of the field, the General Editor with expertise in urban planning, public policy, and the environment worked alongside a Consulting Editor with a background in Civil Engineering. The index, Reader's Guide, and cross references combine for thorough search-and-browse capabilities in the electronic edition. Available in both print and electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Transportation is an ideal reference for libraries and those who want to explore the issues that surround transportation in the United States and around the world. Key Themes: Administration, Operations, and Evaluation Air Transportation Systems Economics of Transportation Energy, Environmental, and Health Impacts Facilities and Infrastructure Intermodal Transportation Systems International Transportation and Policy Labor Issues/Employee Relations Planning and Policy Safety and Security Social Issues in Transportation Surface Transportation Systems Technology, Design, and Engineering Transportation, Finance of Transportation Legislation Transportation Modeling Transportation Organizations and Agencies Travel Behavior and Research Water Transportation Systems
Publication Date: 2014-08-27
Environmental Encyclopedia by Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health contains information on the actual catastrophic events - how, where, when, why each of these environmental conditions occurred - what impact the effect has and the kinds of health issues that arise from the event, how to identify the health issues, and how to treat the conditions through test, treatment, therapy, and public health response. This product describes the immediate public health response and the long-term public health needs (progress, challenges, etc). The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health covers events, environmental health statutes, diseases/conditions, environmental health policy issues, as well offering biographical sidebars on key figures in environmental health. The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health benefits high school and college students researching specific environmental disasters and issues for their courses in psychology, public health, and history. The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health benefits public library patrons dealing with the long-term effects of environmental health issues directly or those interested in these issues that affect whole communities and demand widespread public health response.
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Climate Change and Water Resources by This volume presents nine chapters prepared by international authors and highlighting various aspects of climate change and water resources. Climate change models and scenarios, particularly those related to precipitation projection, are discussed and uncertainties and data deficiencies that affect the reliability of predictions are identified. The potential impacts of climate change on water resources (including quality) and on crop production are analyzed and adaptation strategies for crop production are offered. Furthermore, case studies of climate change mitigation strategies, such as the reduction of water use and conservation measures in urban environments, are included. This book will serve as a valuable reference work for researchers and students in water and environmental sciences, as well as for governmental agencies and policy makers.
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
Global Environmental Change by The handbook Global Environmental Change is intended to serve as a reliable and comprehensive resource to attend the needs of researchers, teachers, students, and professionals working in science and policy aspects relevant to environment and sustainability. Entries in the handbook are arranged by major section, and are extensively cross-referenced to allow users to find related titles in a user-friendly way. The handbook is available as a printed volume and as an on-line reference work.
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy by The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy presents an authoritative and comprehensive overview of global policy on climate and the environment. It combines the strengths of an interdisciplinary team of experts from around the world to explore current debates and the latest thinking in the search for global environmental solutions. Explores the environmental challenges we currently face, and the concepts and approaches to solving these Questions the role of global actors, institutions and processes, and considers the links between global climate and environment policy, and that of the global economy Highlights the connections between social science research and global policy Brings together authoritative coverage of recent research by internationally-renowned experts from around the world, including from North America, Europe, and Asia Provides an essential resource guide for students and researchers from across a wide range of related disciplines - from politics and international relations, to environmental sciences and sociology - and for global policy practitioners
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by The second edition of this Handbook contains more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.The introduction explores the intellectual trends and evolving parameters in the field of global environmental politics. It makes a case for an expansive definition of the field, one that embraces an interdisciplinary literature on the connections between global politics and environmental change. The remaining chapters are divided into four broad themes - states and cooperation; global governance; the political economy of governance; and knowledge and ethics - with each section covering key emerging issues. In-depth explorations are given to topics such as climate change, multinational corporations, international agreements and UN organizations, regulations and business standards, trade and international finance, multilevel and transnational governance, and ecological citizenship. Handbook of Global Environmental Politics, Second Edition is a comprehensive review of the field and offers cutting-edge ideas for further research. As such, scholars, students and policy-makers will find themselves looking to it for many years to come.
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
The Oxford Companion to Global Change by The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. In one convenient volume, the Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations betweentechnological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. It is an essential reference work for students, teachers, researchers, and other professionals seeking to understand any aspect of global change.
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by How old is the Earth? Is it really likely to be hit by a meteorite? What can Antarctic ice cores and Milankovitch cycles tell us about global warming? What is a Milankovitch cycle anyway? Where would you find black smokers? Are they ever likely to be useful? What causes tornadoes? Should youworry if you live near a transform plate boundary? What is the difference between a tidal wave and a tsunami? Does it matter? Can rocks affect your health? Answers to these and many similar questions will be found in the Oxford Companion to the Earth. The aim of the Companion is to provide conciseand readable accounts of the main phenomena and processes relating to the Earth. Like the other Oxford Companions, it is aimed at a wide readership, and will appeal both to professional Earth scientists seeking an accessible digest of topics outside their own areas of specialization, as well as tothe general reader wishing an approachable reference to our planet and the environment. For all these readers, and many more, the Companion will not only provide a valuable source of reference but also fascinating and informative browsing. The scope of the Companion is wide: it is concerned withthe entire planetary environment on which all living things (ourselves included) depend: the atmosphere and the oceans as well as the solid Earth. And since we can no longer consider the Earth in isolation, information about other parts of the Solar System also finds a place here. Included in theCompanion: Over 900 entries, from acid rain to zoogeomorphology, and over 200 expert contributors Complete coverage of the Earth sciences, including geology, geophysics, geochemistry, geodesy, geomorphology, soil science, glaciology, oceanography, climatology, meteorology, enviromental and resourcedevelopment, volcanology, and the history of the Earth sciences Over 800 pages with 600 illustrations and 16 pages of full colour plates Useful appendices, including detailed index, geological timescale, facts and figures about the Earth and its near neighbours, table of chemical elements. TheCompanion is a unique and important reference source which will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in the Earth, its history, formation, and environment.
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Routledge Handbook of Tourism and Sustainability by Routledge Handbook of Tourism and Sustainability from C. Michael Hall, Stefan Gössling, Daniel Scott is one of the winners of the ITB BookAwards 2016in the category Specialist tourism literature! Sustainability remains one of the major issues in tourism today. Concerns over climate and environmental change, the fallout from the global economic and financial crisis, and the seeming failure to meeting UN Millennium development goals have only reinforced the need for more sustainable approaches to tourism, however they be defined. Given the centrality of sustainability in tourism curricula, policies, research and practice it is therefore appropriate to prepare a state of the art handbook on the relationship between tourism and sustainability. This timely Handbook of Tourism and Sustainability is developed from specifically commissioned original contributions from recognised authors in the field, providing a systematic guide to the current state of knowledge on this area. It is interdisciplinary in coverage and international in scope through its authorship and content. The volume commences with an assessment of tourism's global environmental, e.g. climate, emissions, energy use, biodiversity, water use, land use, and socio-economic effects, e.g. economic impacts, employment and livelihoods, culture. This then provides the context for sections outlining the main theoretical frameworks and constructs that inform tourism and sustainability, management tools and approaches, and the approaches used in different tourism and travel industry sectors. The book concludes by examining emerging and future concerns in tourism and sustainability such as peak-oil, post-carbon tourism, green economy and transition tourism. This is essential reading for students, researches and academics interested in the possibilities of sustainable forms of tourism and tourism's contribution to sustainable development. Its assessment of tourism's global impact along with its overviews of sectoral and management approaches will provide a benchmark by which the sustainability of tourism will be measured for years to come.
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
The SAGE Handbook of Environmental Change by The SAGE Handbook of Environmental Change is an extensive survey of the interdisciplinary science of environmental change, including recent debates on climate change and the full range of other natural and anthropogenic changes affecting the Earth-ocean-atmosphere system in the past, present and future. It examines the historic importance, present status and future prospects of the field over two volumes. With more than 40 chapters, the books situate the defining characteristics and key paradigms within a state-of-the-art review of the field, including its changing nature and diversity of approaches, evidence base, key theoretical arguments, resonances with other disciplines and relationships between theory, research and practice. Opening with a detailed, contextualizing essay by the editors, the work is arranged into six parts: Part One: Approaches to Understanding Environmental Change Part Two: Evidence of Environmental Change and the Geo-ecological Response Part Three: Causes, Mechanisms and Dynamics of Environmental Change Part Four: Key Issues of Human-induced Environmental Changes and Their Impacts Part Five: Patterns, Processes and Impacts of Environmental Change at the Regional Scale Part Six: Responses of People to Environmental Change and Implications for Society Global in its coverage, scientific and theoretical in its approach, the books bring together an international set of respected editors and contributors to provide an exciting, timely addition to the literature on climate change. With the subjects' interdisciplinary framework, this book will appeal to academics, researchers, postgraduates and practitioners in a variety of disciplines including, geography, geology, ecology, environmental science, archaeology, anthropology, politics and sociology.
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
A - Z Guides
Green Atlas: A Multimedia Reference by This reference resource, in atlas format, is an online-only compendium of maps and data sets accompanied by multimedia elements designed to illustrate key concepts in green issues and environmentalism graphically and interactively. Topics for the maps presented in this work were selected from articles in the 12-volume, e-only SAGE Reference Series on Green Society: Toward a Sustainable Future. Each map includes links to one or more of the series articles. Maps include interactive components, with clickable icons to deliver the data and statistics that make up each map. Further, multimedia elements (photos, video and audio clips and transcripts) accompany map themes and presentations.
Publication Date: 2013
Green Business by A global recession has dampened consumption and business investments, green or otherwise. Yet economic stimulus programs have focused on green economic development based on alternative energy technologies and the infrastructure to support transmission of distributed sources of power, as well as low-tech innovations such as building weatherization. Proponents of green technology believe that public stimulus dollars and private investment have potential to create large numbers of green-collar jobs as well as to increase the overall efficiency of the economy. Action at the national level is mirrored at state and local levels, as governments revise building codes, leading the construction industry to source greener building materials. Large retailers, from Ikea to the supermarket chain Tesco, are eliminating unnecessary packaging and providing product information designed to encourage sustainable purchasing. And the concepts of green business are being applied in sectors beyond manufacturing and retail, including agriculture, where growth continues apace in demand for organic products and food sources from growers who are paid a fair wage and use sustainable farming techniques. Businesses increasingly recognize their capacity to help solve global environmental and social challenges, and the most innovate understand the business case for addressing such issues as climate change, water scarcity, pollution, poverty, hunger, and inequality. Via 150 signed entries, Green Business: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of key principles, approaches, strategies, and tools businesses have used to reduce environmental impacts and contribute to sustainability. Entries reflect the expertise of scholars and practitioners from varied fields and provide references to other entries as well as citations for further reading.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Cities by Via 150 signed articles, this volume, Green Cities, in the SAGE Reference Series on Green Society, provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, and architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment. It identifies cities that have taken steps to become greener and discusses the strategies they have used. It reviews broad concepts associated with green cities. It discusses technologies, infrastructures, and programs that contribute to the greening of cities. Cities face enormous environmental challenges, and the entries in this volume, from case studies of greener cities to discussions of green urban design, infrastructure, and processes, can help us transform out cities into healthier, sustainable communities in which a growing urban population can thrive. Along with the articles, pedagogical elements of this electronic product include a Reader's Guide, Chronology, Resource Guide, Glossary, Appendix, and thorough Index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Consumerism by Via 150 signed entries, Green Consumerism: An A-to-Z Guide offers a wide-ranging examination of green consumerism, one reflecting the diversity of views and debates surrounding the concept. The multiplicity of topics and disciplinary perspectives provides a useful survey of the nature of green consumerism, the forms it takes, the issues impacting it, and the practices it involves. Contributing authors also provide insights into the social and spacial constitution of green consumerism, its multifaceted and sometimes contested contours, and the ways it is embedded and shaped in relation to wider cultural, economic, political and environmental processes. Readers will derive a sense not only of what green consumerism has become, but more critically, how it might evolve, addressing both limitations and possibilities for real and meaningful change. Along with the articles, which include cross-references and further reading suggestions, pedagogical elements of this electronic-only product include a Reader's Guide, Chronology, Resource Guide, Glossary, Appendix, and thorough Index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Culture by This eleventh volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society explores the ongoing paradigm shift in culture and lifestyles toward promoting a sustainable environment. After years of discussion about the environment dating back to the 1960s counter-culture, the recent explosion of green initiatives has induced the general public to embrace all things green, from recycling in the home to admiring green celebrities. This volume assesses the green cultural transformations by presenting some 150 articles of importance to students of sociology, history, political science, communications, public relations, anthropology, literature, arts and drama. Presented in A-to-Z format, the articles include appealing topics from green Hollywood to green spirituality, green art and green restaurants. This work culminates in an outstanding reference available in both print and electronic formats for academic, university, and public libraries. Pedagogical elements in the frontmatter and backmatter include a reader's guide grouping related entries by broad themes and topics, a glossary of relevant terms, a resource guide to further readings (key books, journals, Websites), an appendix of primary documents and a thorough index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Education by This seventh volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society explores the environmental movement's proliferation in the field of education, from elementary school classroom efforts to the university curriculum to building sustainable campuses. Focusing on the critical role of education in building a sustainable future, approximately 150 signed entries, written by scholars and experts in a variety of disciplines, examine school and college courses in green education, the structures of educational institutions, the challenges of reducing their ecological footprint, administrative policies, green campus organizations, and student and faculty participation. Pedagogical elements in the front- and back-matter include a Reader's Guide, a Glossary of relevant terms, a Resource Guide to further readings, an Appendix of primary documents, and a thorough Index, all of which comprise an outstanding reference for academic and public libraries presented in both pring and electronic formats to enhance accessibility.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Energy by This initial volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy. Each entry draws on scholarship from across numerous social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering. The urgency of climate change underscores the importance of getting the right technologies, policies and incentives, and social checks-and-balances in place. The green energy challenge faced by our civilization will require many minds and a great effort on all fronts. We hope this collection of articles can provide those with a sparking interest in the topic to participate in what will hopefully become an equitable and intergenerational conversation about the impacts of our energy consumption and how to make it cleaner and greener. Via its 150 signed entries, Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide provides students, professors, and researchers an invaluable reference, presented in an electronic-only format, to the world's energy future.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Ethics and Philosophy by This eighth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement. Since the 1960s, green ethics and philosophies have helped give birth to the civil rights, feminist, and gay rights movements, as well as contemporary environmentalism. With a primary focus on green environmental ethics, this reference work, available in both print and electronic formats, presents approximately 150 signed entries arranged A-to-Z, traversing a wide range of curricular disciplines, including philosophy, psychology, business, economics, religion, and political science. A rich blend of topics, from the Hannover Principle to green eco-feminism, responsible eco-tourism, corporate values and sustainability, and more, are explained by university professors and scholars, all contributing to an outstanding reference mainly for academic and public libraries.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Health by This ninth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society examines the green movement within the contexts of personal health and the healthcare industry, focusing on consumer lifestyles and how they affect resource conservation, pollution prevention, and environmental management. The scope of the title involves the societal goals of protecting human health and reducing the ecological footprint of healthcare. With approximately 150 signed entries written from global viewpoints by university professors and experts, Green Health: An A-to-Z Guide explores topics ranging from ecologically sustainable pharmaceuticals to the health risks of fossil fuels, biological stressors, the precautionary principle and wellness, organic food and health, hazardous waste, drinking water, the greening of healthcare, and more. This work culminates in an outstanding reference for academic and public libraries. Pedagogical elements in the front- and back-matter include a Reader's Guide, a Glossary of relevant terms, a Resource Guide to further print and non-print resources, an Appendix of primary documents, and a thorough Index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Issues and Debates by This twelfth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society explores the multitude of threats to sustainable life on earth and the myriad of controversies surrounding potential solutions. The grayer shades of green are deeply examined, including such heady questions as: Is ethanol production from corn a recipe for famine? Does offshore drilling pose more of a risk to the environment than the problem it solves? Is 'clean coal' a viable option or is it simply polluting the energy dilemma? Are genetically modified foods helpful or harmful? Well-respected scholars present over 150 articles presented in A-to-Z format focusing on issues brought to the forefront by the green movement with carefully balanced pro and con viewpoints. A valuable tool for students of all facets of ecology, the environment and sustainable development, the volume fully engages the reader, inspiring further debate within the classroom. This work culminates in an outstanding reference available in both print and electronic formats for academic and public libraries. Pedagogical elements in the front-matter and back-matter include a reader's guide grouping related entries by broad themes and topics, a glossary, a resource guide to further readings (key books, journals, websites), an appendix of primary documents and a thorough index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Politics by A hallmark of the past 100 years has been the greening of political thought and practice. Today, there are green political parties, green organizations, and green consumer goods, all of which show how our decisions to organize, donate, and consume have been infused with green politics, which in many ways is all about values. Green politics has grown in the popular imagination, as well. Everyday there are headlines about climate change, impacts of resource extraction, or chemical pollution in a poor neighborhood. Underlying all of those stories are classic political questions about power, representation, and ultimate values. This second volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society covers the availability and distribution of such resources as energy and how they impact economic development, domestic politics, and international cooperation and conflict. For instance, articles investigate how politics influence the choice of energy strategies within the U.S. and how availability of different forms of energy fuels political conflict among nations worldwide. As supplies of nonrenewable energy sources become constrained by increasing global demand, will states tighten control over such commodities or will they seek equitable and sustainable ways to share them? Such questions have never been more urgent. Other issues of equal urgency to be covered include watershed resources (what happens when countries share a river and one country siphons off or pollutes waters before they reach other countries), other natural resources (for instance, industrialized countries attempting to dictate to developing countries about rainforest resources, whaling countries versus those seeking total bans on whaling as an industry), air pollution, global health and epidemiology (e.g., constraining the spread of potential pandemics, radioactive fall-out across countries from nuclear accidents like Chernobyl). From A-to-Z, the politics of these and similar "green" issues are thoroughly explored via 150 signed entries.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Green Technology by This tenth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society explores the essential role of technology and its most recent developments toward a sustainable environment. Twofold in its definition, green technology includes the changing of existing technology toward energy conservation as well as the creation of new, clean technology aimed at utilizing renewable resources. With a primary focus on waste management, the volume presents over 150 articles in A-to-Z format. Scholars and experts in their fields present a full range of topics from applications of green technology to The Green Grid global consortium to membrane technology and water purification systems to waste-to-energy technology. This work culminates in an outstanding reference available in both print and electronic formats for academic, university, and public libraries. Pedagogical elements in the frontmatter and backmatter include a Reader's Guide grouping related entries by broad themes and topics, a Glossary of relevant terms, a Resource Guide to further readings (key books, journals, web sites), an appendix of Primary Documents, and a thorough Index.
Publication Date: 2011-06-28