Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acta Horticulturae - Proceedings by
Call Number: SB13 .A25 (and online)
Publication Date: 1963-
Acta Horticulturae (ISSN 0567-7572) is a series of scientific technical publications, mainly the proceedings of International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS) Symposia and the ISHS International Horticultural Congress.
They are in the online catalog by number and individual title. To easily locate a subject, search as a KEYWORD the terms: Acta Horticulturae .
We have access to the full text of all the proceedings online, accessible at this link and by individual title in the catalog.
SpringerLink is the platform for European based publisher Springer. It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields.
ASHS Publications Style Manual
Useful information for authors submitting papers to any of the three ASHS Journals:
Journal of the American Society for Horticultural Science
These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online.
CAST - Council for Agricultural Science and Technology
CAST is a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) organization composed of 38 scientific societies and many individual, student, company, nonprofit, and associate society members. The primary work of CAST is the publication of task force reports, commentary papers and issue papers written by scientists from many disciplines. CAST addresses issues of animal sciences, biotechnology, food sciences and agricultural technology, plant and soil sciences, and plant protection sciences with inputs from economists, social scientists, toxicologists or plant pathologists and entomologists, weed scientists, nematologists, and legal experts. Publications List with abstracts - most documents are free pdfs.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are digitizing the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections, and so far have over 1.124 million pages of key taxonomic literature available on the web. From a scholarly perspective, these collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends -- more than any other science -- upon historic literature. The “cited half-life” of natural history literature is longer than that of any other scientific domain.
Botanicus is a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
Farm, Field and Fireside Collection
Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Using the menu to the left, you can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. You can print, download, or e-mail individual articles.
Holistic Agriculture Library
This website provides a large number of free e-books available for immediate download. The books are mainly about holistic agriculture, holistic health and self-sufficient homestead living. There are secondary collections about social criticism and transformational psychology. No fees are collected for this service.
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950.
Making of America
MoA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Michigan County Histories and Atlases
Contains 428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923. Most are full-text searchable, with results displayed as an image or PDF. A user guide is available at this research guide with screen shots
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
The NALD Collections provide access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions. Links to specific series, i.e. Farmers' Bulletins, Agriculture Handbooks, etc., is available here: Agriculture Research Guide: USDA Resources
Organic Agriculture Information Access
The Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. Access to this data is intended to provide growers with new ideas on crop production without chemicals, as well as help researchers conserve scarce resources by avoiding unintended duplication.
The Smithsonian Collections Search Center
is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from our museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 8.1 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with 860,477 images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts and electronic journals
. This catalog is regularly updated as catalog records are being added and revised.
Treesearch is an online system for locating and delivering public domain publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by our scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed to ensure the best quality science.