Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor is a digital image database containing over 1 million images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian Photographic Images
The North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced. Issued in a limited edition from 1907-1930, the publication continues to exert a major influence on the image of Indians in popular culture. Curtis said he wanted to document "the old time Indian, his dress, his ceremonies, his life and manners." In over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes. The twenty volumes, each with an accompanying portfolio, are organized by tribes and culture areas encompassing the Great Plains, Great Basin, Plateau Region, Southwest, California, Pacific Northwest, and Alaska. Featured here are all of the published photogravure images including over 1500 illustrations bound in the text volumes, along with over 700 portfolio plates. Courtesy of Northwestern University and the Library of Congress American Memory Project.
Early Images of Virginia Indians Companion to an exhibit of prints of Native Americans made by Europeans in the late-16th and 17th centuries. Includes illustrated essays about interpreting historical images, invented scenes from narratives (such as the abduction of Pocahontas), and fanciful figures. From the Virginia Historical Society William W. Cole Collection.
Faces of the Frontier : Photographic Portraits of the American West, 1845-1924 includes portraits of Red Cloud, Sitting Bull, and Geronimo.
George Catlin and His Indian Gallery The Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum features this virtual exhibit on George Catlin and his work. Catlin spent his life recording the customs and cultures of Native American tribes, and lobbying to protect their way of life.
National Museum of the American Indian Part of the Smithsonian Institute, the National Museum of the American Indian is "the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans." Links to numerous online exhibtions are included on the site.