LibGuides: Broad Scholars: News & Articles

Identifying Types of Periodicals

When searching the literature on a topic, it is important to learn what a variety of experts, scholars, journalists, and researchers are are saying about the topic and have published in periodicals. A periodical is anything that is published at regular intervals throughout the year such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper:

Magazine: A magazine is a collection of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually these articles are written by journalists or scholars and are geared toward the average adult.

Journal: A journal is a collection of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted.

Newspaper: A newspaper is a collection of articles about current events usually published daily. Since there is at least one in every city, it is a great source for local information.

Use this chart to help you identify the differences among popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade journals:

Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals vs. Trade Journals

Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, & Newspapers

These resources will help you find articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers about companies and industries.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
**Access is allowed for only 6 users at a time.**
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal. Also provides company, industry, and market information.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from business and trade journals covering all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.