History of Science and Technology: A Research Guide: Article Databases

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.

Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.

Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

This database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.

1940-
A searchable Web database published by the American Mathematical Society covering research literature in mathematics as well as applied mathematics literature in areas such as physics, engineering and biology

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Searches across 78 journal, magazine, newspaper, thesis/dissertation databases. Results sorted by relevancy and can be limited to scholarly / peer-reviewed content.

America: History & Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It has selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. The database also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Anthropology is a core discipline covered by this database. Journal and book coverage draws significantly on the collection of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Over 50 percent of journals indexed are published outside the US or the UK; 25 percent of references are in languages other than English. Coverage dates back to 1951.

Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. EBSSCOhost platform.

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.

Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

IEEE Xplore provides access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. The content is comprised of journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks and educational course materials.