Geography Research Guide: Finding Articles

Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

GeoBASE is a broad interdisciplinary journal index for international development, the Earth sciences, ecology, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, plus several thousand additional journal titles and books. GEOBASE contains over 1.4 million records from 1980 to present.

According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.

1785-
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.

This database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.