Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library subscribes to a number of online databases that bring together encyclopedias and handbooks from a publisher in one convenient and searchable website.
SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Hosts a large number of works by Sage Publishers, a well-known scholarly publisher in the social sciences. Titles in this database include Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery; The Sage Handbook of Social Work Research; Encyclopedia of Social Problems; etc.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A searchable database of works by Gale Publishers, a major educational publisher. Titles in this database include International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences; Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources; West's Encyclopedia of American Law; etc.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online offers research guides on a wide variety of subjects that combine features of annotated bibliographies and subject-specific high-level encyclopedias. Summarizes main discussion areas within a particular topic and provides contextual citations to key works.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The Encyclopedia and Handbook: An Excellent Starting Point for Research
MSU Libraries purchase a continuing stream of handbooks and encyclopedias. They provide authoritative overviews and resource lists on specific topics and are heavily used. Handbooks, in particular, distill current areas of interest and make recommendations for future research.