LibGuides: HDFS 901 Proseminar Contemporary Scholarship in Human Development and Family Studies: Data and Statistics

Key Statistics Resources

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Includes ProQuest Statistical Datasets and the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in ProQuest Statistical Insight.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).

Green Book This link opens in a new window
The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States. It is compiled by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Data.Census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.

Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services - Health Statistics and Reports
Includes vital statistics, communicable diseases, hospitalizations, birth defects, community health information, cancer statistics, and population trend.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest social science data archive. It is one of the best places to start looking for a data set, especially for survey and governmental data. MSU maintains a membership which allows students and faculty to download data sets and use other online tools by registering with your @msu.edu email address.
MSU Libraries Data & Statistics Research Guides
Complete list of MSU Library guides pointing to data and statistics by topic.
- How to Find Data & Statistics
  Tutorial on best practices for locating data and statistical information.

Center for Statistical Training and Consulting
A professional service and research unit at Michigan State University. Our aim is to support research and provide training, grant development, and consulting in statistics for faculty, staff, and graduate students. Offers periodic workshops introducing statistical tools and methodologies.
Insitute for Public Policy & Social Research
Extending scholarly expertise to Michigan's policymaking community is at the heart of the Institute for Public Policy and Social Research's mission. Over the past three decades, IPPSR has built a reputation for serving leaders and scholars with top-notch research, inviting discussion, and world-class political leadership training.
Library Data Services
Michigan State University Library Data Services assists faculty, staff and students identify and access numeric data sets for secondary research analysis, primarily in the social sciences.
Research Data Management Guidance
The Research Data Management Guidance service is a joint effort between the MSU Libraries and University Archives to respond to the emerging concern surrounding research data management. Effective research data management is an active and ongoing process during the entire research lifecycle, from project conception to long after it is finished.