Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the Manuscript Census, click on Ancestry Library Edition below and choose (on the right side) the US Federal Census Records. This version of the census has handwritten entries on every person counted by the census enumerators.
Ancestry Library Edition
Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a Civil War collection.
Familysearch Indexed Records
This vast database contains many birth, marriage, and death records contributed by Familysearch staff and volunteers around the world. You must specifiy a geography, which could be as general as a country, or as specific as a town. As you type in the name, you must select it from a pop-up list that will appear.
Manuscript Census Sample, 1930
Sample Results 1920
Sample Search limiting by name and place of residence, 1940:
Searching for someone by place of birth (not by name):
World War I Registration
Among the many military records available, look for the database, "World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918"
Here is an example: You can see it is two small pages. The digital images were made from old photographs of the original records.