Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook.
The Canada Guide.
- Historica Canada
"...offer programs that you can use to explore, learn and reflect on our history, and what it means to be Canadian. ."
- globalEDGE: Canada
Produced by MSU's Center for International Business Education and Research, this site provides compiled information which includes "a map, key statistics, history, economy, government, and links to Canada-specific resources, stock markets, and recent news."
- Library and Archives Canada Selected Topics
- Canada Year Book Historical Collection, 1867 to 1967
"...the wealth of historical data in Statistics Canada's annual Canada Year Book is available free on the Internet in the Canada Year Book Historical Collection. It covers the first century of Canada's history, from 1867 to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and maps, supplemented by interconnected learning resources for students and teachers."
- Canada's Digital Collections
Library and Archives of Canada "acquires, processes, preserves and provides access to our documentary heritage and serves as the continuing memory of the Government of Canada and its institutions.."
- Canadian Information By Subject
Produced by the Library and Archives Canada, this site attempts to "provide links to information about Canada, arranged by subject, from Internet resources around the world." The site is arranged by an "inverted subject tree" which is based by the widely use Dewey Decimal Classification system. The Subject Tree can be browsed either in subject order or in alphabetical order. The index terms come from standard library subject lists. Finally, there is a title index.
- Canadian Social Research Links
"the site was a way for me [webmaster Gilles Séguin] to share my collection of 1,600+ Netscape bookmarks with others in the social research community who had Internet access - in government, non-governmental organizations and academia. I enjoyed it enough to keep working at it, like the model railroad builder or the stamp collector, adding bit by bit to the collection. The number of link pages has since expanded to 200+ and there are now over 20,000 unique links on the site.."
- Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources
"...bibliographic essay originally appeared as "Canadian Studies: A Core Collection," CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 35 (September 1997): 71-84, and was initially revised in June 1999 for the International Council for Canadian Studies World Wide Web Service."
The Monographs collection, spanning three and a half centuries of Canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. With a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of Canada. Topics range from major historical events to the development of institutions, laws and science; from Canadian literature to philosophical treatises; from agriculture to politics, trade and tariffs.
Links to a wide variety of resources
- CBC Digitial Archives
Audio and video clips from 1914 to the present. Includes a "For Teachers" section that provide "educational materials for Grades 6-8, Grades 9-10, and Grades 11-12. These materials were created to complement many of the topics posted on the Web site, and include five lessons per topic, divided by grade level. All educational materials are available free of charge."
"Each biography in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online reproduces one that was originally commissioned by the Dictionary of Canadian Biography for its print version and was republished, sometimes with minor corrections, in the Dictionary of Canadian Biography, Volumes I-XIV, CD-ROM (2000). The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world."
- Framing Canada: A Photographic Memory
"Featuring photographs from various public and private collections, Framing Canada: A Photographic Memory presents a searchable database of digitized photographic images from 1843 to the mid-20th century. These images tell the fascinating and ever-changing story of how Canadians see themselves and their world."
- H-Canada: Canadian History and Studies
H-Canada is the H-Net [Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine] discussion list dealing with Canadian History and Studies. It provides Discussion Logs, H-Canada [book] Reviews , Bibliographies, Internet Sources, and H-Canada Syllabi."
- Inventory of Canadian Digital Initiatives
Provides links to, and descriptions of digitized Canadian resources created for the Web. These initiatives include digital collections centred around themes and collections, reference sources, and databases.
- Our Roots / Nos Racines
"This unique, online, coast-to-coast record of Canadian local histories reflects the breadth and depth of our country's heritage, and celebrates the diverse landscapes, resources, and people that have contributed to sculpting its rich and ever-evolving national character. Our Roots provides universal access to unique materials concerning the cultural and social heritage of our nation. Written by Canadians, for Canadians, these local histories represent this nation’s history from the perspective of those who helped shape it. Now available in digital format, these resources are not only accessible from anywhere via the world wide web, but are also preserved for future generations of students, teachers and researchers."