Emphasis is on current research in food science and human nutrition, especially food safety and security, food processing, and nutrition and its relation to human health.
The primary language of acquired materials is English.
The primary emphasis is on the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. International coverage is highly desired for most areas; therefore, English-language publications may be purchased regardless of country of origin or geographic treatment.
Resources collected include: research and trade journals, textbooks, databases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, conference proceedings, government publications, and bibliographies.
Emphasis is placed on electronic resources to support integration into the food science and human nutrition curricular materials and research. Journals are collected only in electronic format when available. A robust print book collection is also maintained to support interlibrary loan and use by community patrons visiting MSU.
Research data - particularly data that is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories - may be collected. For additional guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.
Image banks and streaming media may be purchased, if available, upon faculty request. Streaming media is given priority when it will be used in a classroom setting for educational purposes. Popular films and documentaries are acceptable genres if they fit a predetermined curricular need. Physical format AV materials are collected rarely.
Core food science and human nutrition textbooks are collected in print and electronic formats.
The following are usually not collected: theses (except for MSU theses), catalogs, programmed texts, ephemera, and self-published works. Laboratory manuals, spiral-bound works, and pocket-sized books are collected only under very limited circumstances. Cookbooks are generally not collected.
Generally, materials published in the last five years are collected. Older material is considered for unusual or sparsely covered subjects, or in the case of replacements for missing items. Older material may also be added to complete a series of editions of an important title or to complete a journal run. Consideration is also given to collect historical materials related to cookery for the historical Cookery and Food Collection.
Select consumer health books are collected in print on topics of nutrition and its relationship to human health. Informational and evidence-based books are preferred. Memoirs, patient autobiographies, graphic novels, young adult, or children’s books are not collected.
Access to food and nutrition information, services, and resources is largely impacted by racism and other structural inequities. Building a collection to support departmental needs requires that collection decisions place importance on who is being represented in literature, cultural competency in practice, and supporting, valuing, and purchasing materials that introduce the unique perspectives and needs of underserved and marginalized communities. Diversity in collection development foci can encompass, but are not limited to, the areas of underrepresented: races, ethnicities, sexualities, ages, gender expressions and identities, cultural and religious identities, socioeconomic class, US geographical location, and nationalities.
With the increase in electronic resources we recognize that not all formats and platforms are accessible to all users. We prioritize purchasing content on accessible platforms, and work with publishers to include licensing language that allows for quick remediation of electronic texts to support accommodations for disabilities. Please see the MSU Libraries Services for Patrons with Disabilities for more information.