Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Cesar E. Chavez Collection on Chicano/Boricua Studies

Cooperative Collection by Subject and LC Classification

[NOTE: Materials relating to Chicano and Boricua studies in any and all subject areas and subject subdivisions are also collected by the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer and Latin American Studies Bibliographer. In addition, subject specialists such as the Fire Arts Librarian; Music Librarian, Special Collections Librarian, etc. contribute to the overall development of the Chicano and Boricua Studies collection. The classification numbers listed below are those at which substantial quantities of materials are found; however, due to the scope of the collection, the listing is not all-inclusive. The location and pertinent bibliographer is also noted.]

Subject: L Class Location Bibliographer/ CDP @ Research Level
Mexican Americans
General Works
E 184.M5 MAIN DHR
Mexican Americans in Michigan/Midwest F 395.M5 MAIN DHR
U.S./Mexico border lands (Primary U.S. imprints) F 786-787 MAIN MJZ/DHR
Art N 6538.M4 FINE ARTS MBD/TW/DHR
Theater PN 2270.M48 MAIN MR/DHR
Literature (includes literary history and criticism; Mexican American authors; poetry; drama PS 153.M4
PS 508.M4;
PS 3551-3576
PS 591.M4
PS 628.M4
MAIN MR/DHR
Public Health RA 448.5 M5 MAIN AW/DHR
Bibliography Z 1361.M4 MAIN RJ/DHR
Puerto Ricans on the mainland E 184.P85 MAIN DHR
Literature (including Latino authors-Puerto Rican authors) PS 508.H57;
PS 3551-3576
MAIN DHR
Religion (Primarily the history of Christianity in the U.S. and Catholicism as it relates to Chicanos, Puerto Ricans and other Latinos BR 563;
BX 1407
MAIN AHW/DHR
Genealogy (Particularly that of Southwestern U.S. and the U.S./Mexico borderlands; includes works dealing with research methodology) CS 1-110 MAIN BS/DHR
Folklore (Primarily Chicano and Puerto Rican folklore of the U.S.) GR 111 MAIN RJ/DHR
Labor (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Chicano, Puerto Rican and Latino migrants and agricultural Laborers, and Hispanic alien and minority labor in the U.S.) HD 1525
HD 1527
HD 8081
MAIN LL/DHR
Immigration (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Latin American migration to the U.S., and Hispanic American immigrant communities) JV 6200-7539 MAIN JH/DHR
Education (includes the education of Mexican Americans and Puerto Ricans and the bilingual education of Spanish speaking children) L 2667-2698
L 3701-3740
MAIN JM/DHR


rev. 9/25/14 dhr

Michigan State University