Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Chicano and Latino Studies

Observations and Qualifications by Subject and LC Classification

Materials relating to Chicano and Latino studies in any and all subject areas and subject subdivisions are also collected by the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer and the Latin American Studies Bibliographer. In addition, subject specialists such as the Art Librarian, Special Collections Librarian, etc. contribute to the overall development of the Chicano and Latino Studies collection. The classification numbers listed below are those at which a substantial quantity of materials are found; however, due to the scope of the collection, this listing is not comprehensive.]

Subject

LC Class.

Location

CDP Level

Selectors

MEXICAN AMERICANS

E 184.M5

MAIN/CV

4

 DHR

 

       

General Works (Michigan/Midwest/US-Borderlands) 

F395.M5;F786-787

MAIN/CV

4

 DHR

 

       

ART

N6538.M4

FINE ART/CV

4

TW/DHR

THEATER

PN2270.M48

MAIN/CV

 

 MR/DHR

 

 

 

 

 

LITERATURE (includes literary history and criticism; Mexican American authors; poetry; drama)

PS508.M4; PS3551-3576;PS591.M4;

MAIN/CV

 

 MR/DHR

 

       

PUBLIC HEALTH

RA448.5M5

MAIN/CV

4

AW/DHR

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Z1361.M4

MAIN/SS

4

RJ/DHR

CUBAN AMERICANS

E184.C97

MAIN

4

DHR

PUERTO RICANS ON THE MAINLAND

E184.P85

MAIN/CV

4

DHR

OTHER LATINOS IN THE U.S.  General works

 

 

 

 

E184.S75

MAIN

4

DHR

LITERATURE (including Latino authors; COMICS)

PS508.H57PN6700

MAIN/SPC

4

/RWS/MR/DHR

RELIGION (Primarily the history of Christianity in the U.S. and Catholicism as it relates to Chicanos and other Latinos)

BR563; BX1407

MAIN

4

AHW/DHR

GENEALOGY (Particularly that of Southwestern U.S. and the U.S.-Mexico borderlands dealing with research methodology)

CS1-110

MAIN/CV

3

BS/DHR

FOLKLORE (Primarily Chicano and Puerto Rican Folklore of the U.S.

GR111

MAIN/CV

4

DM/DHR

LABOR (Generally limited to U.S. imprints, but also includes Mexican imprints of works on Chicano and Latino migrants and agricultural laborers, Latino alien labor in the U.S.)

HD1525

MAIN/CV

4

LL/DHR

IMMIGRATION (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Latin American migration to the U.S. and Latino immigrant communities

JV 6200-7539

MAIN/CV

4

JH/DHR 

 

       

EDUCATION (Includes the education of Mexican Americans and other Latino groups; the bilingual education of the Spanish speaking

 

rev. 9/25/14 dhr

L 2667-2698

MAIN/CV

4

JM/DHR

 

 

Michigan State University