Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: European Studies

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

  • A. Anticipated future trends

    It is anticipated that as the European Union expands, so too will the research and scholarly interest in this area as a whole. The fact that much of the research done in this area, and all of the official publications of the European Union, appear in English, make European studies a very accessible area for many scholars with international interests.

    It is also evident that as countries enter into the European Union, more publications emerge on those countries within that context, and fewer focus on the individual countries. Thus when previous studies were completed on a topic within one or two European countries, now studies compare topics between multiple countries within the European Union. What once may have been purchased under an individual country fund is increasingly falling under the broader boundary of Europe as a whole.

  • B. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements

    International Documents: The unit that processes the European Union depository collection. Also has comprehensive coverage of UN publications for the area, as well as a comprehensive collection of materials from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, which consists largely (although not exclusively) of European nations.

    Russia and Eastern Europe: Covers works on Central and Eastern Europe as a whole, including studies of the transition of these countries into the European Union. When these (former Soviet bloc) countries are compared to other European nations, the publications are the responsibility of European studies.

    Medieval Studies: Covers European history prior to 1450.

    Germany and Northern Europe: Covers individual and comparative studies of the Nordic countries, including Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Germany, Austria and Belgium.

    Classical Studies: Covers the Greco-Roman world; Europe up to approximately 500CE

    French Studies, British Studies, Spain and Portugal, Italian and Greek Studies: Each of these countries is covered by their respective funds and does not fall under European Studies unless the work in question is comparative research across several countries

Michigan State University