MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Enter the name of the author you are researching into the search work form. Click on the down arrow in the "Select a field" box. Scroll down the list of possible fields. Choose SA Primary Subject Author. Click Search. Notice that you can also look up material about particular literary works using the SK Primary Subject Work search field.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current. Once in LION, click on "Authors" in blue near top left of the page. Then click to search or browse authors' names.
Dictionary of Literary Biography. This contains complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. Volumes in the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, v. 4, 65, 72, 242, 258, 296, 321, shown below, will be particularly useful for France between the wars. They contain lengthy biographical entries and references.
v. 4, American Writers in Paris, 1920-1939
v. 65, French Novelists, 1900-1930
v. 72, French Novelists, 1930-1960
v. 242, Twentieth-Century European Culture Theorists First Series
v. 258, Modern French Poets
v. 296, Twentieth-Century European Cultural Theorists, Second Series
v. 321, Twentieth-Century French Dramatists
Periodicals Archive Online
This is an online indexing effort which is in the process of indexing and providing full-text access to early periodicals, from 1700 onwards. Articles from journals written in the 1918-1939 period will be primary sources. To find such, click on “article search,” enter the date range in the year of publication boxes, select the discipline using the “select from a list” feature (advise history, general and humanities, art, music, etc.), select language of the material similarly, and put in a keyword in the keyword search box. If full-text link is not available within this system, look up the periodical title in our online catalog.
Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France du Cinquième Siecle à 1958. Z 2176 .B5 Main. Not online. Annual volumes cover all topics in French history from the 15th century c. to 1958. Published in France. Much of the indexed material will be in French. Use the table of contents pages to find the period and type of history you seek and then scan the references in the chapters. Unannotated. Covers both book and article material. For Paris between the wars see chapters on la Troisième Republique, la France de 1919-1939 in the political section, etc.
Information in PAIS International and PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope, PAIS International and PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs. PAIS Archive is a retrospective database supplementing PAIS International containing more than 1.2 million records covering the years 1915-1976. Use this to find primary sources written back then about issues of the day in Paris between the wars OR to find material written SINCE THEN about issues of this period.
Free Access to Pascal (Science) and Francis (Humanities and Social Sciences)
Do simple and advanced searches, classification searches (subject scheme), on this now freely available database from the French Scientific Information Dept. of Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). Francis is the database for social sciences and humanities materials. Indexes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish from journals, conference proceedings, dissertations. Covers materials indexed in Francis from 1972-2015, 2 million items. Do your search. Then look up the journal name, conference, dissertation in our online catalog for access. If we don't have it, request ILL.