Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Researching the French Revolution and Napoleonic Era in the M.S.U. Libraries: Biography Reference

This is a guide to researching the French Revolution and the Napoleonic Era.

Biography Reference

Napoleon Bonaparte a Reference Guide to His Life and Works  Main DC 226.3 .M44 2020

Tells Napoleon's story "in what is effectively a deconstructed biography." Contains chronology of important events in his life, with "a sprinkling of contextualizing events."  Main part of the work is a dictionary of major events, places, and people in his life.  No one entry for the man himself.  Appendices: his marshals and their titles, key battles, selected treaties, conventions, and decrees of the Napoleonic era, and Napoleon's immediate family.  15 page bibliography.  Author is an American  professor and Napoleon specialist.

Napoleon Dictionnaire Historique Main DC 203 .L466 2020

Topical and biographical entries, with further reading references, from one to several pages in length.  Some maps.  Both broad topic and specific entry indexes.

Dictionnaire des Revolutionnaires Francais  Main DC 147 .B73 2014

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Reference DA 28 .O95 2004 v. 1-61

Contains extensive, scholarly biographical articles on a great range of significant British figures of all periods. Bibliographical references.

Great Lives from History : British and Commonwealth Series  Main CT 774 .G74 1987
Lengthy chapters on significant individuals with further reading references.

Harper Encyclopedia of Military Biography Reference U 51 .D87 1992

Who's Who in Military History: From 1453 to the Present Day Reference U 51 .K4 1987

Ministers of the Crown Main JN 401 .P5
Lists, for each British government office, who occupied it, by year.

Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia Reference HQ 1115 .W66 1999 v. 1-17

Michigan State University