Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Traditionally, in the pre-internet era, bibliographies were books or articles that provided lists, sometimes annotated sometimes not, of readings on particular topics within a subject or discipline. They might also be in narrative form, called bibliographic essays. Today some are online. This page is under construction.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies Online offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. This link takes you to their web site. Choose "Renaissance and Reformation" from the subject display in the center of the screen. Then choose your topic from the A-Z blue topic buttons in the page center. The entries have a summary on the topic followed by an annotated bibliography of significant books and articles about the topic. Look these up in our online catalog to see if we have them. Or, use the search boxes at the top right of the screen to look for your topic within the works included in the OBO.
Biscotti, M.L. Six Centuries of Foxhunting, an Annotated Bibliography Main SK 285 .B57 2017
Christian Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History Main BP 172 .C4196 2009 v. 6,8
These volumes go chronologically by date. Volumes 1-4 cover the time period of the Crusades. The volumes contain a combination of secondary history writing on topics, but also dictionary type entries about particular texts along with bibliographical references to writings about them. These are long, dense books. The online versions take a long time to actually load up on your computer to see the full texts. So we have bought some of the volumes in paper. Volumes 6 and 8 cover 1500-1700.