Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to UN Documentation
Indexes and Databases to UN Documents
AccessUN: Index to United Nations Document and Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes documents and sales publications of the United Nations. This includes publications and records of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice and Secretariat. Materials since 1993 are largely available online with links in the database. Older materials are available on microfiche in the International Documents Collection, 2 West. Does NOT include documents of the specialized agencies, i.e. UNESCO, FAO, WHO, ILO, etc.)
UNBISnet is the primary index to United Nations documentation published since 1979, or earlier for selected major documents. It also includes the catalogue of the collections of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. A special area of UNBISnet may be accessed to view detailed voting records of resolutions adopted by the General Assembly (thirty-eighth session, 1983 -) and Security Council (1946 -). Links to the full text of resolutions are provided. Another special file contains speeches for the main United Nations organs, the General Assembly (thirty-eighth session, 1983 -), the Security Council (thirty-eighth year, 1983 -), the Economic and Social Council (1983 -) and the Trusteeship Council (1982 -).
United Nations Documents Index
Call Number: MSU Remote Storage, JX1977.A1 U558
The main print index to the documents and publications of the UN and its subsidiary bodies. Indexing to UN materials has undergone numerous changes over the years:
From 1979-1996, the main index to UN materials was UNDOC: Current Index. For the period 1974 - 1978, the analogous index was UNDEX: United Nations Documents Index. From 1950 - 1973, indexing was provided by the United Nations Documents Index (UNDI). A cumulated index for 1950-1962 is shelved following UNDI. The specialized agencies are indexed in this series only until 1962. There are substantial differences in the coverage of these indexes; be sure to read the explanatory material provided in the volumes.
Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly JZ5006.I64
Index to Proceedings of the Security Council JX1977.A5
Index to the Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council (-1994) ST/LIB/Ser. B
Index to the Proceedings of the Economic and Social Council ST/LIB/Ser. B
(All in Int'l Docs, 3 West, some years also included in the UNBISnet database) A set of annual indexes to the proceedings of each of the main UN bodies.)
Resolutions and Statements of the United Nations Security Council (1946-2000) by
Call Number: MSU Remote Storage JZ5006.5.I65 R47 2001
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
As the ever increasing number of Security Council resolutions and statements is nowadays easily available through the UN home page, this booklet will guide you thematically through these documents without the texts of the resolutions and statements being reproduced. This work contains the essential tools, presented in a chronological order, and classified on a topic basis to help you find and compare the English and French texts electronically.Part I contains matters concerning the maintenance of international peace and security; Part II contains other matters considered by the Security Council. The next division is a geographical one, each geographical region being subdivided into numbered topics. The corpus of this Thematic Guide consists of an analytical table of resolutions, statements and letters. Additional tools are made available in the annexes: a chronological list and the composition of the Security Council (1946-2000). This booklet is a sequence to the previous two editions by Karel Wellens of Resolutions and Statements of the United Nations Security Council: A Thematic Guide.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
-- All multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and those formerly deposited with the League of Nations - their latest status and a link to the full texts.
--Bilateral and multilateral treaties registered and published by the United Nations Secretariat in accordance with Article 102 up to a certain date - Detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic language(s).
--Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties that have been deposited but not yet published - available for viewing and downloading in some or all of their authentic languages.
Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General
Publication Date: 1981-2009
Also in print:
MSU Remote Storage, KZ171 .M86
Provides a comprehensive list of signatures and ratification dates for all treaties deposited with the Secretary-General. Citations to the United Nations Treaty Series and other official sources are also provided. Most valuable is the inclusion of the texts of various countries' declarations, reservations and objections to sections of the treaties.
Also in print:
MSU Remote Storage
call number: JX1977.A1 U564
The UN's quarterly magazine