Women in World History, a Biographical Encyclopedia, Reference HQ 1115 .W66 1999 v. 1-14. Long articles with both primary and secondary source further readings.
Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World, a Biographical Dictionary, Main HQ 1143 .E93 2000. Long articles on fewer women, as this is only one volume. Short lists of further reading at the ends of the articles. Interesting appendix of notable women by title, occupation, or main area of interest.
Larousse Dictionary of Women, Main HQ 1115 .L37 1996. Short entries covering women of all periods. No further reading.
Ireland, Index to Women of the World from Ancient to Modern Times, Biographies and Portraits, Main HQ 1123 .I73 and Suppl. An index to information about women found in other sources. An abbreviation to a book title in several letters and page numbers appears under the subject's name. Look in the front of this book under the letters to find the author and title of the book containing the needed information. Then check our online catalog.
Oxford Dictionary of Saints, Main and Fine Arts BX 4659 .G7 F23 [date]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Main DA 28 .O95 2004 v. 1-60 and Supp. 2001-2004 Reference DA 28 .O95 2009. Long, scholarly biographical articles on famous deceased British women.
New Biographical Dictionary of Scottish Women DA 758.4 .B56 N49 2018 Main
Biographical Dictionary of Scottish Women: from the Earliest Times to 2004 Main DA 758.4 .B56 2006
Women of Ireland: a Biographic Dictionary Main CT 3650 .I73 O24 1996
Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300, a Biographical Dictionary, Main CT 114 .R57 2002. Men and women who made contributions to European culture. Chronology. Entries medium length, from a long paragraph to two-three pages. One or more bibliographical references conclude articles. A more extensive bibliography in back of book.
Remember that most of the various encyclopedias and subject dictionaries above also contain biographical sketches.