Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Annual Bibliographies and Indexes to Articles
Annual bibliographies and indexes to articles should be used to find currently written scholarly articles and book chapters.
International Medieval Bibliography
An index to the European Middle Ages (c.500-1500 A.D.) covering periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, festschriften, and exhibition catalogs in Western European languages. Limiting search results to English language only items is possible. Searches may be conducted in English, French, or German. PLEASE click on “Logout” at top right of the work screen when finished searching. Try subjects: witches, witchcraft, magic, malleus.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
The find text at MSU feature is enabled in this database. Look for the red button “check for full text” above the individual records in the database.
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Covers the disciplines of archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature. Try subjects: witchcraft, witches, shakespeare and macbeth.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides access to scholarly historical articles on topics in the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America. Try subjects: witchcraft, witch-hunts, witch hunting, magic, malleus maleficarum, shakespeare, william (macbeth).
America History and Life
Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history. Try subjects: witchcraft, witches, massachusetts (salem) and (witches or witchcraft) [search phrase].
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, Main stacks Z 2016 .A55, published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material. Try this. Enter the database. Click on "All Subjects" box in the Subject Search portion of the search work form. At the top of the page that comes up, type in the word "Witchcraft" and click to search this. "Witchcraft" appears at the top left. Click your mouse to put a check mark into the box beside this word. Click on Insert/Close at top right of screen. This inputs the search into the work form. Click on search at bottom right of screen to see the results. Then refine your search by chronological period, place, other topic words, etc.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database indexes periodical articles and book material in biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Its coverage begins in 1949; there are over 1.3 million records for articles, citations to more than 200,000 essays, and over 400,000 book review cites. ATLASerials, part of our subscription, provides links to the full texts of 100,000 some articles from more than 50 journals. Try subjects all: witchcraft or witches.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Try DE Subjects (Exact) witchcraft.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1770 onwards, emphasizing provision of back runs of old, old periodicals. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Try subject: witchcraft
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. Try Advanced Search, which requires selecting the discipline of journals in which your keywords (in title, abstract, or full text) will be performed; this helps ensure the words will be used in the way you want them to be. Try these words in the titles of the articles: witchcraft, religion and magic, magic, salem.
Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Years available vary by journal. Uses the Library of Congress' subject headings, like those in our online catalog! Try subject heading witchcraft, or other headings from the L.C. List of Subject Headings, Reference, Z 696...