Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Additional Web Resources: General and History L-Z

This is a guide to free web sites about the Medieval West: general and history, images, law, literature, science, women, philosophy, religion, scholarly organnizations, scholarly discussion lists.

General and History L-Z

Continues General and History from previous page.  Alphabetical.

Lambeth Palace Library Greek MSS Online

Lambeth Palace Greek MSS Descriptive Catalogue, compiled by Christopher Wright and Maria Argyrou, with tech. advice/support of Philip Taylor at RHUL Hellenic Institute, History Dept., in collaboration with Lambeth Palace Library.

Leeds University Medieval Resources Online, an Annotated List

Organized by chronological period with sub-arrangement in a table for geographic location, topic, and text.  Places cover from Portugal in the West to Russia in the East, from Scandinavia south to North Africa.  Broad topic areas, such as archaeology, medicine, drama, military science, etc.  Links also to archives, resources about funding, bibliographies, associations, blogs, teaching resources, libraries, etc. Paragraph length entries with URLs.

Lost Manuscripts Project

This project, run by the Centre for Bibliographical History at the University of Essex, aims in a series of stages to build a union catalogue of manuscript fragments in the British Isles.

Making of Charlemagne's Europe (MCE)

Offers a single, unified database framework for the extraction of prosopographical and socio-economic data found in early medieval legal documents. Legal documents contain an extraordinary wealth of information for the political, social and economic history of this period. The aim of this project is to offer a common framework capable of extracting and comparing the data contained within legal documents, while still, at the same time, allowing users to identify and control for the most significant distortions typically affecting this material (such as modes of transmission, e.g. via an original or a later copy). The second aim is to apply this framework to legal documents surviving from the reign of Charlemagne (25 September 768 to 28 January 814 AD). Over four thousand charters survive from the reign of Charlemagne; the database includes almost a thousand of them, selected for maximum variety in types of repository, modes of transmission, geographical area, recipients and issuers, etc.

Malta Study Center of Hill Museum and Manuscript Library (HMML)

The Center’s primary mission is to preserve and make accessible the written culture of Malta and the Order of Malta. The Center maintains a microfilm collection of more than 16,000 documents from Malta, covering the period of the 12th to the 20th century. The materials include the Archives of the Order of Malta, the Cathedral Museum in Mdina, the Archives of the Inquisition, the ecclesiastical records of the dioceses of Malta and Gozo, and musical compositions. The center also has over 1500 digitized manuscripts from the National Archives of Malta, the Notarial Archives of Malta, the Magistral Library and Archives, and the Palazzo Falson Museum and Library. The Center sponsors digitization projects to preserve the history of Malta and the Order of Malta. The Center also actively acquires rare books and manuscripts related to Maltese history and the history of the Order, which are cataloged, digitized, and studied in the Hill Museum & Manuscript Library’s Rare Book and Special Collections.

Manchester Medieval Portal

From Manchester University Press. Offers links to websites on medieval women, the Black Death, Dark Age Scotland, Anglo-Saxons, the Crusades, medieval warfare, Charlemagne and the Carolingian dynasty, monasticism, the Hundred Years War, Magna Carta and King John, the Norman Conquest, the Vikings.

Manorial Documents Register

The Manorial Documents Register (MDR) is the official index to English and Welsh manorial records, providing brief descriptions of documents and details of their locations in public and private hands. Manorial documents noted in the MDR are defined by the Manorial Documents Rules as court rolls, surveys, maps, terriers, documents and books of every description relating to the boundaries, franchises, wastes, customs or courts of a manor. Title deeds are not included in the MDR. 

Manuscripts Online

Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.

Mapping Death

Mapping Death facilitates access to a detailed database of burials and burial sites in Ireland from 1st to 8th century AD including archaeological, onomastic, statistical, mapping and historical data.  Project of Project of University College Dublin.

Medieval and Renaissance Food: Sources, Recipes, and Articles 

Provides articles and recipes for recreation of period dishes dating prior to 1600, including texts of several Renaissance cookery books.

Medieval England and France 700-1200

See France-England Medieval Mss Project, above.  This site, created by the BL, aimed at a wider public audience, and has been developed by the British Library to showcase a selection of manuscripts as well as articles, essays and video clips.

Medieval Family Life, The Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, Armburgh Papers

This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.

Medieval Manuscript Leaves

Fifty-one Leaves from Medieval Manuscripts from 12th-16th centuries in Western Europe. These manuscript leaves were selected to illustrate the art of the manuscript during the period of its greatest development and influence. They have been taken from books written in various European scriptoria by Benedictine, Franciscan, Carthusian, Dominican, and other orders of monks. Many are enriched with handsome borders, initial letters, and line-endings rendered in color, and twenty-five are illuminated with burnished gold or silver. The texts include the Bible, various church service books, the writings of the Church fathers, and some of the Classics.

Medieval Murder Map (re London)

Medieval Travel Writing

This project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.

Medievalists.net

Includes topical introductions with links to full-text research articles, news, images, videos, and interviews.  Helpful for understanding medievalism in popular culture via films, fiction, video games, and TV.

MEMS: Michigan Consortium for Medieval and Early Modern Studies

University of Michigan plus other great universities.  Many links to web sites medieval to be found here.

MEMSlib Online Medieval Resources

From University of Kent, Centre for Medieval and Early Modern Studies.  Offers links to web sites in manuscript studies (to help with paleography and codicology), medieval history art and architecture (image sourcing sites), and early modern history (best digitized text sites and general reference bibliographies).  Also offers a Forum where people can ask each other questions.

Merchant Fleet of Late Medieval and Tudor England 1400-1580
Database by Craig Lambert, University of Southampton, contains the details of English, Welsh, and Channel Islands merchant ships, and the voyages they undertook, between 1400 and 1580. The database was compiled using evidence from three core documentary records: 1) Customs Accounts: the records of customs charges levied on English maritime commerce. The taxation of maritime commerce was an important part of the crown's income and to collect revenues from custom charges the crown needed to systematically record the details of the ships and their cargoes as they entered or left port.  2) Navy Payrolls: the crown's wartime requisitioning (and payment) of merchant vessels for naval duties and for the transportation of armies and supplies to Scotland, France, and elsewhere.  3) National ship surveys: compiled to provide the government with accurate information as to the size and geographical distribution of the English merchant fleet. In many cases the customs accounts, naval records, and ship surveys provide us with the name of the ship, its home port, its master, and sometimes the destination and/or origin of the port from which it sailed. This means we have the names of thousands of shipmasters, ships, and details of the commercial active ports in England over this period. (from the web site).

MESA, Medieval Electronic Scholarly Alliance

MESA is a federated international community of scholars, projects, institutions, and organizations engaged in digital scholarship within the field of medieval studies.  MESA has adopted tools and infrastructure utilized by our sister organizations, NINES and 18thConnect.  It  operates on the Collex platform, which has been developed and updated by grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Using the Collex interface, MESA aggregates the best scholarly resources in medieval studies and makes them fully searchable and interoperable. This interface also provides a collection and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work.

Mirabile Digital Archives for Medieval Latin Culture

Iinterface in Italian language.  Look in the lower right corner of screen for U.K. flag.  Click there to access English language interface.  This is the knowledge management system for study and research on medieval culture developed by by the Società Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino and the Fondazione Ezio Franceschini ONLUS of Florence, in partnership with other Italian institutions.  Some of its resources are freely available, but not all.  The Romance and Hagiographic databases are freely available.  Also free are the manuscripts related bibliography for years 2009-2011 and the index of medieval authors, texts, and manuscripts based on MEL, BISLAM, and CALMA (medieval Latin databases that are part of Mirabile).  Bibliography of 70,000 manuscripts. 

Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digital 

The Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) is an extensive series of carefully edited sources for the study of German history (broadly construed) from the end of the Roman Empire in the West to 1500 CE. The collection consists of five main areas: Antiquitates, Diplomata, Epistolae, Leges, and Scriptores, as well as Necrologia. The search interface is in German. MSU Libraries owns many volumes in print form, as a search for the title: Monumenta Germaniae Historica reveals.

Online Catalogues of Archives and Manuscripts 

From the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford.  These represent only a part of the manuscript holdings in the Bodleian Library. Here you will find descriptions of archives and manuscripts which have been catalogued after 2001; some retrospective digital conversions of earlier unpublished catalogues; and collection-level descriptions of most of the collections catalogued in our published hardcopy catalogues.

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography

Annotated database of online and printed sources for the study of the Middle Ages, by Maryanne Kowaleski, Fordham University.

Parker Library on the Web

Matthew Parker (1504-75) was a powerful figure of the English Reformation who was largely responsible for the Church of England as a national institution. Parker's talents were sought by both Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. He served as chaplain to Anne Boleyn and proved himself a capable administrator, becoming Master of Corpus Christi College (1544-53), Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University, and Archbishop of Canterbury (1559-75). A benefactor to the University of Cambridge, Parker's greatest tangible legacy is his library of manuscripts and early printed books entrusted to Corpus Christi College in 1574. He was an avid book collector, salvaging medieval manuscripts dispersed at the dissolution of the monasteries; he was particularly keen to preserve materials relating to Anglo-Saxon England, motivated by his search for evidence of an ancient English-speaking Church independent of Rome. The extraordinary collection of documents that resulted from his efforts is still housed at Corpus Christi College, and consists of items spanning from the sixth-century Gospels of St. Augustine to sixteenth century records relating to the English Reformation. The Parker Library's holdings of Old English texts accounts for nearly a quarter of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon, including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), the Old English Bede and King Alfred´s translation of Gregory the Great´s Pastoral Care. The Parker Library also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts ranging from the Ancrene Wisse and the Brut Chronicle to one of the finest copies of Chaucer´s Troilus and Criseyde. Other subjects represented in the collection are music, medieval travelogues and maps, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles and Bibles. The Parker Library holds a magnificent collection of English illuminated manuscripts, such as the Bury and Dover Bibles (c. 1135 and c. 1150) and the Chronica maiora by Matthew Paris (c. 1230-50). Scholars in a variety of disciplines - including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion - find invaluable resources in the Library´s collection.

Regesta Imperii

This is a resource in German on European medieval and renaissance period history. The Regesta Imperii are one of the great source works of German and European History. They produce an inventory of all documentary and historiographical sources of the Romano-German kingship from the Carolingians to Maximilian I (751-1519), as well as of the Popes of the early and high middle ages. The full-texts of the regests offered here were printed from the mid 19th c. onwards. This website also contains a database of citations for research, called RI-Opac, of primary and secondary material (1500-) from archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philosophy, languages, and theology. Search by place, historical period and subject. There is also a link to the Monumenta Germaniae Historica.

Road to Agincourt

On October 25, 1415, the ill and exhausted English army (led by King Henry V, who had inherited the throne just two years earlier) was badly outnumbered by the French army, which was in much better condition. English defeat may have seemed inevitable - but the English were victorious, and the Battle of Agincourt turned Henry V into a hero of the Hundred Years' War.  Uses Esri's story maps platform. Background information. Follow a narrative journey (illustrated by numerous maps, images, and graphics) that follows Henry V's invasion of France as well as France's resistance in the weeks preceding Agincourt. The battle itself.  Details about the two armies' weaponry, strategies, etc. By Ioannis-Rafail Chatzis,  University of Edinburgh.  Use Firebox. Wait for loading.

Robin Hood Project

Contains a database of texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information about the Robin Hood legend and other outlaw tales. From University of Rochester.

Schoenberg Database of Manuscripts

From University of Pennsylvania.  Gives info about medieval mss drawn from over 300 years of auction and sales catalogues, inventories, and catalogues of institutional and private collections.  These records aid in locating and identifying manuscripts of five or more folios produced before 1600, establishing provenance and collecting descriptions about specific classes or types of manuscripts.  Comprehensive browse lists, transaction and bibliographic data for auction, etc.

Secrets of the Norman Invasion 

Essays, primary sources, and aerial photographs relating to the landing of the Normans in England in 1066. Includes photos of the Bayeaux Tapestry. Author, Nick Austin. Scroll down past the advertisement for his book.

Sexy Codicology, a World of Illuminated Manuscripts and Medieval Books

In a partnership between the British Library and the National Library of France, 800 medieval manuscripts held between both institutions from 700-1200 are to be made available online.  In April, 2017, 100 mss are ready to use online at this website.

Vatican Film Library St. Louis, Missouri

The research collections of the Vatican Film Library offer a wide selection of primary source manuscript materials in a variety of formats, ranging in date from the fourth to the nineteenth centuries. These collections center around the microfilmed manuscripts of the Vatican Library in Vatican City (Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana). The VFL holds copies of approximately three-quarters of its Greek, Latin, and Western European vernacular manuscripts, as well as a sizeable number of its Hebrew, Ethiopic, and Arabic manuscripts. Furthermore, in support of manuscript studies we maintain a comprehensive reference collection of manuscript catalogues, monographs, facsimile reproductions, and periodical literature. This includes a complete set of all the printed catalogues and handwritten inventories for Vatican Library manuscripts, as well as the printed catalogues for a great many other major manuscript collections. 

Verteilte Digitale Inkunabelbibliothek Cologne, Wofenbuttel, et. al

Some support for English users, but primarily in German.

What Every Medievalist Should Know

This list is based on a privatissimum given many years ago by Prof. James W. Marchand, Prof. Emeritus of German, Comparative Literature, and Linguistics at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign titled A Casual Taxonomy of Things a Medievalist Should Know.  He gave answers to students' questions viva voce, and the answers were taken down by Wayne Kraft. These lists are meant for the beginning-to-semi-advanced graduate student to get started working in a new field (see Handout on Getting Started in a New Field). Includes good books and some web sites.  It's bibliographies of things to read in various subject areas.

Year 1000:  Apocalyptic Year Extraordinaire? or a Year Like any Other

Offers articles and essays discussing the history and historiography of the Year 1000 and the end of the First Millenium. The primary focus is on the question of how widespread were the apocalyptic expectations frequently associated with that year. A bibliography is also included.

Michigan State University