Using Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online: Free Sanborn Sites

The Library of Congress Geography and Map Division has scanned their enormous collection of fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company. Every state of the United State is included plus the District of Columbia.

A hierarchical organization of the Library of Congress Sanborn Collection which you might find easier to navigate.

Over 3,000 map images

The map images are presented using the Luna Insight interface.

A collection of more than 300 bibliographic units in more than 3,000 map sheets.

This site contains 4,445 maps by the Sanborn Map Company depicting commercial, industrial, and residential areas for 133 Georgia municipalities. Large zoomable images.

Detailed fire insurance maps made by Dakin Publishing Co.

Choose your area of interest, click on it to see a list of available downloads.

Detailed maps of 241 Kansas towns.

This collection contains a variety of large-scale property maps including fire insurance maps.

Scans of Sanborn maps from 390 Missouri communities.

At the Dartmouth Digital Library Collections. High resolution downloads are available

Courtesy of Princeton University Library

Do not miss also the broader collection using the topic "Real Property" which includes other large scale mapping of the state of New York. This is a growing collection.

The holdings range in date from the 1880s to the 1950s and cover more than 150 cities and towns across the state. North Carolina Maps features online all of the North Carolina Collection's Sanborn® maps produced through 1922.

The digital collection contains 20,300 out-of-copyright sheets of 588 communities.

Color scans of 97 communities in South Carolina.

From the indispensable Perry Castaneda Library at University of Texas.

Contains images from 40 communities in Utah, 1884-1922.

Detailed maps of 325 Wisconsin towns