LibGuides: VM 810: Food Safety Management: Post-Graduation Research

Freely accessible resources

Unfortunately, MSU Libraries' licensing agreements restrict access to faculty/staff and currently enrolled students, so alums cannot access any licensed content (which includes our online databases, electronic journals, newspapers, and e-books). You will need to utilize your corporate or local public library and/or rely on free resources.

Note: Many university libraries accommodate walk-in users, so if you can physically go to a library with access to the resources you want, you may be able to use them on-site.

Government Information/Statistical Sources

GovInfo This link opens in a new window
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including Presidential Documents, the Congressional Record, Congressional bills and laws and regulations. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GovInfo can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government. Includes a search engine for federal, state and local government web sites, directories, e-government services and much more.
UNData This link opens in a new window
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Includes Health Nutrition and Population reports.

Full-text Article Resources

PubMed Central
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Gateway to free, full-text, scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
ROAD, Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available. A service offered by the ISSN International Centre with the support of the Communication and Information Sector of UNESCO.

Article Indexes

PubAg
Free portal for literature searches and access to over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles. All of the core topics of the agricultural science is covered including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
1966-
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.

Google Scholar
A simple tool for conducting a broad search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. While you are a student at MSU, you will want to set up your Google Scholar Preferences (see https://lib.msu.edu/rds/offcampusaccess) in order to gain seamless access to MSU subscriptions.

Subject Guide

Anita Ezzo

Email Me

Contact:

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

VM 810: Food Safety Management: Post-Graduation Research

Freely accessible resources

Government Information/Statistical Sources

Full-text Article Resources

Article Indexes

Subject Guide