Skip to main content
Michigan State University

ME 491 Integrated Systems Design

Finding Tools

Indexes
Indexes are the primary tool for finding journal and conference articles on a particular topic. No one index covers all of the subject areas that  engineering students might be interested in and there is some overlap between indexes that cover engineering. Some indexes only cover journals while others index a wide range sources such as books, reports, conferences, journal, and patents. Most index producers have developed their own search interfaces. From the electronic resource index search page it is possible to search for indexes by title or by a subject such as Computers or Engineering. Below are some of the major indexes that might be of interest to engineers and engineering students.

Compendex

Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.

ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library contains over 30 publications All full-text Conference Proceedings Publication archives dating back to the 1950s; over 1 million pages of text; over 50,000 bibliographic citations.

 CIVIL ENGINEERING DATABASE

This database indexes all of the publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers from 1975 to the present including all of their journals, conferences, books, manuals and standards. It can be searched by author, title, and keyword. To begin a search click on the “Search" button on the left side of the screen. The Engineering Library subscribes to both the print and electronic versions of all of the ASCE journals and purchases some of the other ASCE publications in print.

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE and IET. Coverage is complete from 1988 to the present. More backfiles will be added as content is digitized.

Materials Research Database

Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.  Includes the Materials Business Data File.

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

          SpringerLink        

          Web of Science

Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Google Scholar:   provides users with a single access point to a broad range of topics across many disciplines and many types of information resources including journal and conference articles, books, reports, theses  and government publications.  While Google Scholar searches can identify information sources in many formats and covering a wide range of topics it is not the only or best tool for finding information all topics.

If you are accessing resources through Google Scholar and want to ensure your access to MSU Library resources is seamless, do the following:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click on "Settings" in the upper-right corner
  • Click on "Library Links"
  • Search for Michigan State University
  • Select "Michigan State University – MSU Access" by checking the box
  • Click "Save"
  • Do your search in Google Scholar
  • Click on the link for "MSU Access" that will appear to the right of the title of the resource and you'll be prompted for your NetID and password to access that resource. Please Note – if you click on the title and not the "MSU Access" link you won’t be taken to the resource.
Michigan State University