Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

ME 491 Integrated Systems Design

Selected Free Patent Databases

USPTO Web Patent Databases

The Full-Text Database offers all US patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.

Google Patents
With Google Patents, you can search and read the full text of patent grants and applications from around the world. If you're looking for prior art, you can use the integrated Prior Art Finder tool and Google Scholar documents to find patent and non-patent prior art, all in one interface.  Google Patents includes patent applications and grants from the USPTO, EPO, WIPO, DPMA, CIPO and SIPO. Patents without English full text are machine-translated to English, so you can search foreign patent documents using only English keywords.  Documents from Google Scholar have been classified with Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) codes using a machine-classification model, to make it easier to search non-patent literature in a patent searching context.

Espacenet

Espacenet is a database of patent information created by the European Patent Office.  It contains patents issued by the European Patent Office, the WIPO, and a number of other countries.

For more information about Patents

Michigan State University