Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mammals of the Great Lakes Region by
Call Number: QL719.A14 B85 1995 (Maine and Gull Lake)
Publication Date: 1995-01-17
Revised and expanded edition of the classic Mammals of the Great Lakes Region.
Mammals of the Great Lakes region by
Call Number: QL719.A14 B85 (Main and Gull Lake)
Publication Date: 1957
"Revision of the author's The mammals of Michigan, with species added to include the area surrounding the Great Lakes."
Michigan Mammals by
Call Number: QL719.M5 B33 1983 (at Main and Gull Lake)
Publication Date: 1983-05-01
Mammals of Beaver Island, Michigan by
Call Number: QH301 .M5 v.2, no.6 (Main)
Publication Date: 1964
Publications of the Museum, Michigan State University. Biological series ; v. 2, no. 6
Dictionaries - Online
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences, 4th ed by
Call Number: QE5 .D555 2013 Online
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
An authoritative and wide-ranging with coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology. There are entries on planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales.
A Dictionary of Ecology, 5th edition by
Call Number: QH540.4 Online
Publication Date: 2015
This fully revised, updated, and expanded dictionary contains over 6,500 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.This is the ideal reference for students studying these subjects and anyone with an interest in environment and conservation.
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Dictionary of Human Geography, 2nd by
Call Number: GF4 .C37 2013 Online
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organisations, and major periods and schools in the history of human geography, Dictionary of Human Geography provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.It also includes entry-level web links that are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website.
The Environment Dictionary by
Call Number: GE10 .K45 1998 Online
Publication Date: 1998-06-05
The Environment Dictionary provides an essential source of information on all aspects of the environment. It includes all the basic scientific terms and concepts along with socio-economic, cultural, historical and political elements which impact on the environment. This dictionary provides the interdisciplinary approach required to understand environmental issues worldwide.
Encyclopedias - online
Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2nd ed by
Call Number: QC854 .E523 2011 Online
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
The Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather 2nd ed. is covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. Each entry is fully cross-referenced, to both definitions of weather- and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 300 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions around the world and across time.
Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE)
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management by
Call Number: GE300 .E53 1998 Online
Publication Date: 1998-09-03
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics, and allows any subject to be accessed to varying levels of detail; while the longer entries provide general reviews of subjects, the short definitions provide specific details on more specialised areas.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
Call Number: HM856 .E53 2007 Online
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. Key Features - Examines many new ideas about how the world works, what creates the daunting problems of our time, and how such issues might be addressed, whether by regulation, markets, or new ethics - Demonstrates how theories of environmental management based on market efficiency may not be easily reconciled with those that focus on population, and both may certainly diverge from those centering on ethics, justice, or labor.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by
Call Number: GE42 .E533 2009 Online
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, 2nd by
Call Number: QC981.8.G56 E47 2012 Online
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Provided a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it.
Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed. by
Call Number: GE10 .E5 2002 Online
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Dictionaries - print
A Dictionary of Environmental History by
Call Number: GF4 .W49 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-15
A Dictionary of Environmental History provides in a single volume a comprehensive reference work covering the past 12,000 years of the Earth's environmental history. An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline. Entries range from shorter factual accounts to substantial mini-essays on key topics and issues.
The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology by
Call Number: QR100 .S749 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-10
The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology not only defines terms used in environmental microbiology but also includes terms associated with molecular biology, historical figures in the field, and microorganisms of significance. These entries not only provide information that will assist in the study of environmental microbiology, but will also serve as a resource for nonscientists.
A Dictionary of Human Geography by
Call Number: GF4 .C37 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-10
A Dictionary of Human Geography is a brand new addition to Oxford's Paperback Reference Series, offering over 2,000 clear and concise entries on human geography terms. From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organisations, and major periods and schools in the history of human geography, it provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology, 3rd ed by
Call Number: GE10 .P67 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-26
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, more international case studies than previous editions, and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering by
Call Number: GE10 .P43 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-25
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.
Encyclopedias - print
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America by
Call Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001 v.1-6
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
This comprehensive resource, updating The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America, presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of the more than 1,100 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Arranged geographically, entries begin with introductory information including an image of the species and a summary section. Each entry then provides detailed information on each species, including: -- Description -- general descriptive facts about the species, including characteristic size, color, weight, etc.-- Behavior -- discusses typical behavior patterns including reproduction and diet-- Habitat -- explains the species' favored and/or primary habitat-- Distribution -- surveys the areas the species is known to populate, both current and historical-- Threats -- describes existing threats to the continuation of the speciesEach entry concludes with a summary of recovery efforts and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
Catalog search: Ecology/ecological and encyclopedia
Links to a customized catalog search using the terms 'ecolog*' and encyclopedia', limited to items that are in the Main Library building and available. Items are listed in order newest first.
Catalog search: Environment and encyclopedia
Links to a customized catalog search using the terms 'environment*' and encyclopedia', limited to items that are in the Main Library building and available. Items are listed in order newest first.