Bible Resources: Periodical Indexes

Old Testament Abstracts covers journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies from over 450 journals. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the online database dates back to 1978. M.S.U. Libraries does not own any volumes of this index in paper.

The database is indispensable for research and bibliography by scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. Online, the database contains over 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from over 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. It summarizes approximately 800 books each year. Online coverage begins with 1985; however, the print version began publication in 1956 and is in Remote Storage at BS 410 .N35.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.

Content includes:

Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.

A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research.